County Board attendance record better than City Council

Attendance is seemingly less of an issue for Winnebago County Board members than for Rockford aldermen. Between Aug. 11, 2005, and Aug. 14, 2006, County Board members have missed no more than five out of 24 County Board meetings.

Perfect attendance record

If one were given, County Board members Angie Goral (D-7), John Harmon (R-4), Eugene Quinn (R-14), Tuffy Quinonez (D-11) and L.C. Wilson (D-12) would be eligible for the perfect attendance award. Goral was appointed to succeed the late County Board Member Polly Berg in February 2005.

Missed one meeting

County Board Members Mary Ann Aiello (R-9), John Ekberg (R-10), Ray Graceffa (D-7), Gary Jury (R-3), Tom Owens (R-1), Phil Simms (R-14) and Randy Sturm (R-5) have been absent only once.

Missed two meetings

County Board members Chris Johnson (R-4), Bob Kinnison (R-10), Rick Pollack (R-13), Dorothy Redd (D-6) and Jim Webster (R-2) each missed two meetings.

Missed three meetings

County Board members George Anne Duckett (D-12), Pearl Hawks (D-6) and Glenn Wilkins (R-8) missed three meetings.

Missed four or five meetings

While County Board members Bob Hastings (D-13), David Krienke (R-3), Pete MacKay (R-5), Patti Thayer (R-9) and David Yeske (R-2) each missed four meetings, fellow County Board Members Karen Hoffman (D-11), Phillip Johnson (D-8) and Randal Olson (R-1) were absent five times.

As a clarification: In our July 26-Aug. 1, 2006, article “Do aldermen need their own truancy ordinance?”, Ald. Frank Beach was listed with four absences. Those absences were caused by health concerns, from which he has fully recovered.

From the Aug. 23-29, 2006, issue

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!