Deadline June 30 for Illinois Emerging Writers Competition

SPRINGFIELD—Illinois Secretary of State and State Librarian Jesse White and the Illinois Center for the Book announce that the Second Annual Illinois Emerging Writers Competition is being expanded to include poetry and short stories.

“Last year’s inaugural competition awarded prizes exclusively for poetry, but thanks to the generosity of the James Jones Literary Society, we will also be awarding prizes this year for original, unpublished short stories,” said White, who serves as honorary chair of the Center for the Book. “I hope this competition once again proves to be a unique opportunity and outlet for recognizing new literary talent. Anything we can do to encourage new authors to develop and share their talents is welcome.”

Three cash prizes will be available in both categories. Illinois poet laureate Kevin Stein will select winners of the Gwendolyn Brooks Poetry Award, while Kaylie Jones, the accomplished writer and daughter of James Jones, will pick winners of the James Jones Short Story Award. Winning entries will be submitted to several magazines for possible publication.

The competition is open to Illinois residents age 18 and older and runs through June 30. Entry forms, rules and other information can be found at . All entries must be original and unpublished. There is a $20 per submission charge from which prizes will be awarded.

The Illinois Center for the Book, an affiliate of the Center for the Book in the Library of Congress, is a not-for-profit organization promoting books, book arts, libraries and reading in Illinois. Established in 1985, the organization’s mission is to celebrate the printed word and to create an environment that promotes reading, the book arts and an appreciation of the state’s rich literary heritage.

From the June 28-July 4, 2006, issue

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!