Gary S. Wilmer/RAMI Scholarship winners since 1997

It was a dream of Gary S. Wilmer when he began the Rockford Area Music Industry (RAMI) Awards in 1992 to offer scholarships for young musicians. So when Wilmer died in 1994, memorial contributions were used to establish the Gary S. Wilmer/RAMI Scholarship in conjunction with the Community Foundation of Northern Illinois.

What follows is a list of Gary S. Wilmer/RAMI Scholarship winners since 1997, listed by year, the college the students were expected to attend and the amount they were awarded.

2005 winners

Leah Asher, Oberlin College Conservatory, $2,500; Branton Cox, University of Michigan, $1,000; Madeline Herdeman, Lawrence University, $1,000; and Shannon Jeske, Wheaton College, $1,000.

2004 winners

Lily Henley, Berkelee College of Music, $1,500; Daniel Jansen, Vanderbilt University, $1,500; and Christine Knodle, Illinois Wesleyan University, $1,500.

2003 winner

Karen Craig, Rock Valley College, $1,000.

2002 winners

Amanda Asher, Indiana University, $2,000; Michael Davis, North Central College, $1,000; Tarrah Evans, Wartburg College, $1,000; and Elizabeth Young, Millikin University, $1,000.

2001 winners

Emily Herdeman, Indiana University, $2,000 and Jill Moth, Augustana College, $1,000.

2000 winners

Christopher Thomas, Millikin University, $500; Matt Ulery, Roosevelt College of Music, $500; and Kira Wilke, Boston University, $2,000.

1999 winner

Jill Heinke, University of California, $2,000.

1998 winners

Laura Hogberg, college unknown, $750 and Kyla Barber, college unknown, $750.

1997 winner

David Tallacksen, Northern Illinois University, $250 and $500.

From the Feb. 1-7, 2006, issue

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!