Golden Apple Awards presented to 5 Rockford school teachers

Golden Apple Awards presented to 5 Rockford school teachers


A rigorous seven-month process of nomination, application, classroom observation and interviews has culminated in the presentation of five Golden Apple Awards. The actual Golden Apple Statues were presented March 25, 2002 in surprise classroom visits to the following exceptional teachers:

Timothy Braun, Flinn Middle School; Ann Marie Holliday, McIntosh Science & Technology Magnet; Rebekah Lindvall, Rolling Green School; Christina Magee, Eisenhower Middle School; Chris Roarty, Eisenhower Middle School.

These teachers will be honored for their excellence in teaching at the Golden Apple Banquet at 5:30 p.m. on Thursday, April 11, at Cliffbreakers Restaurant. The banquet is open to all interested in supporting the daily heroes we call teachers! Tickets for the banquet are $50 and can be reserved by calling the Golden Apple Foundation office at 227-9283.

The Golden Apple Foundation of Rockford recognizes, rewards and supports teaching excellence in the Rockford Public Schools. The Foundation carries out its mission through the Golden Apple Teacher Recognition Program, the Teacher Academy Program, the Teacher Grant Program and other activities that support the Rockford Public Schools. For further information or questions, please call Lori Berkes-Nelson, executive director, at 765-3889 or 979-6356 (cell).

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!