Ill. to receive disaster aid

WASHINGTON, D.C.—Federal disaster aid has been made available to Illinois to supplement its efforts to assist evacuees from areas struck by Hurricane Katrina.

Assistance is available in response to a declaration by President George W. Bush to state and eligible local governments for emergency protective measures that are undertaken to save lives and protect public health and safety. Emergency protective measures, including direct federal assistance, will be provided at 100 percent federal funding.

This action provides emergency assistance and funds to those areas beginning on Aug. 29, 2005, and continuing. All 102 counties of Illinois are included in the designation.

This is the largest response to a national disaster ever in the U.S., impacting 90,000 square miles in the Gulf Coast region. A total of 18 states plus Washington, D.C., are now included in emergency declarations.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) prepares the nation for all hazards, and manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, trains first responders, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

From the Oct. 5-11, 2005, issue

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!