Jan. 8 Rockford City Council briefs

Mayor Larry Morrissey (I) announced City Hall would be closed Jan. 15 in observance of Martin Luther King Jr. Day. City Council will next meet Jan. 16.

The mayor reiterated Rep. Don Manzullo (R-Egan) and U.S. Sen. Dick Durbin’s (D-Illinois) announcement of the Small Business Administration (SBA) declaring Winnebago County a disaster area in relation to the Labor Day flood. Beginning Jan. 10, property owners may apply for low-interest loans of up to $200,000 ($1.5 million for businesses) to repair structure damage. The loans have an interest rate of 3 percent and may be stretched over as many as 30 years. The SBA will be setting up shop at the City of Rockford Human Services Department, 612 N. Church St. The loan application deadline is March 6. Information and applications may be obtained by calling 1-800-659-2955.

u Mayor Morrissey noted some residents may fall through the cracks in eligibility for the loans and pledged to pursue other resources, including a $200,000 state grant obtained by State Rep. Chuck Jefferson (D-Rockford).

Mayor Morrissey urged residents who may not have reported flood damage to do so by calling the Human Services Department at 987-5685 or 987-5686. Anyone interested in donating to a relief fund may contact the Northern Illinois Community Foundation at 962-2110.

Alice Howard and Joseph Dailing were re-appointed to the Fair Housing Board for terms ending in May 2007. Raymond Matlock was also appointed to a term ending in May. Steven Anderson, Monica DeLeon and Patricia Kiddell were appointed to terms ending in May 2009. Lori Gustafson, Don Bunjes and Sylvia Ramos were appointed to terms ending in May 2008.

Scott Laue and Marcia Mueller were re-appointed to the Police Pension Board. Their terms expire in June 2008 and June 2007, respectively.

Leland Carlson was re-appointed to the Traffic Commission for a term ending in June of 2011.

Shenitra Hyatt was appointed to the Citizen Participation Committee with a term ending this June.

David Hagney and Mark McInnis were appointed to the Historic Preservation Commission for terms expiring in December of 2009.

Recommendations by the Planning and Development Committee regarding Tax Increment Financing (TIF) districts were approved by the council. Redevelopment areas include the Jackson School area, the Preston/Central area and the West Side No. 2 area.

Ald. Linda McNeely (D-13) and Ald. Victory Bell (D-5) were absent.

From the Jan. 10-16, 2007, issue

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!