Literary Hook: Illinois Authors’ Weekend Nov. 16-18

The Illinois State Library and Illinois Center for the Book announce the 10th Annual Illinois Authors’ Weekend. The event takes place Nov. 16-18 at the Illinois State Library, 300 S. Second St., Springfield, Ill. For more specific information or questions, please call Carolyn Bodewes at

The program and author signing schedule follows. All events are open to the public. Thursday, Nov. 16 is Family Reading Night. 6:30 p.m.—Mike Anderson, storyteller/author; 7 p.m.—Marion Dane Bauer, award-winning children’s author and educator; 7:30 p.m.—Celebrity Readers just for kids: Dora The Explorer, Clifford the Big Red Dog, Mother Goose, Arthur, Scooby Doo.

Friday, Nov. 17 is devoted to public programming. 9 a.m.—Tom Joyce from The Appraisal Fair, will speak on antiquarian books. 11:30 a.m.—James B. Stewart, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Den of Thieves, Disney War and Heart of a Soldier, will speak. At 2 p.m., hear Gloria J. Young and Dianne Noland, authors and TV host (Illinois Gardener) on gardening in Illinois. 7:30 p.m.—“Together We Read” program with Springfield-area libraries and Scott Turow (Ordinary Heroes).

Saturday, Nov. 18 offers a schedule of book discussions, workshops and performances. 10 a.m.—Illinois Emerging Writers Competition poetry and short story winners will be announced—Jacque Weiss and Jacquelyn Mitchard. 11 a.m.—Mike Anderson, David Ellis, Mary Byers. Noon—Patricia Hruby Powell, Gioia Diliberto, Neil Flynn, Pat Byrnes. 1 p.m.—Dan Keding, Rick Kogan, Maurice Possley, Kevin Stein, Kaylie Jones. 2 p.m.—Alice B. McGinty, Melanie Lynn Houser, Jonathan Zemsky, Kathryn Harris. 3 p.m.—Lauren Hecht, Barry Silesky, Sharon Solwitz, Christine Swanberg.

Also Saturday, Nov. 18, the author signing schedule is as follows (each session lasts 90 minutes, in the first floor atrium): 10 a.m.—Neil Flynn, Gary Irving, Larry Kanfer, Rick Kogan, Maurice Possley, Patricia Hruby Powell, Robert Shaw, Harry Spiller, Scott Turow, Jonathan Zemsky. 11:30 a.m.—Ray Elliott, Melanie Lynn Hauser, Dan Keding, Rick Kogan, Alice B. McGinty, Jacquelyn Mitchard, Frederik Pohl, Maurice Possley, Harry Spiller, Jacque Weiss. 1 p.m.—Mike Anderson, Mary Byers, Pat Byrnes, Gioia Diliberto, Ray Elliott, David Ellis, Cindy & Kirby Pringle, Barry Silesky, Sharon Solwitz, Christine Swanberg. 2:30 p.m.—Mike Anderson, Mary Byers, Pat Byrnes, Neil Flynn, Kaylie Jones, Marcellus Leonard, Alice B. McGinty, Cindy & Kirby Pringle, Kevin Stein, Jonathan Zemsky. Artist and author Sue Shanahan will be signing her work throughout the day.

At 7 p.m., Saturday, a book and movie discussion will be held in the auditorium, Lincoln Library, the Public Library of Springfield, 326 S. 7th St. A Soldier’s Daughter Never Cries with Kaylie Jones. A panel discussion will be held with Chuck Kaplinsky, Ray Elliott, Judith Everson and Kaylie Jones.

Christine Swanberg is a local author and poet who has written several books of poetry and formerly wrote a column called “The Writer’s Garret” for this newspaper.

From the Nov. 1-7, 2006, issue

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!