StoryImage( ‘/Images/Story//Auto-img-111401635414481.jpg’, ‘Photo courtesy of Clemens E. Hoof’, ”);
StoryImage( ‘/Images/Story//Auto-img-111401637916081.jpg’, ‘Photo courtesy of Clemens E. Hoof’, ”);
Theater patrons in Rockfords early days enjoyed shows at a picturesque movie palace at 617 Seventh St. The Lyric Theater operated from 1908 to 1914, with adult admission only a nickel, 3 cents for a child, or two for 5 cents. Owner-manager was Alvin G. Hoof, and the motto was Please our patrons. Change program daily, except Sunday. The interior had rows of wooden seats, an old pot-bellied stove for heat, and house lights consisting of shaded bare bulbs that hung from the ceiling. There was a large megaphone at the rear exit used for early recorded sound reproductions. The theater opened evenings at 6:30 p.m., with 3 p.m. Saturday matinees. In 1915, it was gone.
From the April 20-26, 2005, issue