Mayor’s Arts Award nominees make Rockford vibrant

Who will be this year’s Mayor’s Arts Awards recipients? Join us, and find out live!

This year’s nominees are:

Individual Artist category: Nels Akerlund, Jodi Beach, Ingrid Neuhofer Dohm, Marc Dull, Lino Gnesda, Norm Knott, Sherry Pritz, James Radloff, Rebecca Robinson, Michael Webb and Victor Yehling.

In the Business category—Janet Wattles Center, MainStreet Financial Group, Williams McCarthy, LLP, and Valley Expo and Display. These nominees embrace the importance of the arts for enriching our community.

The Arts Advocate nominees embodied passion for the arts: Richard and Lon Behr, Maggie Dimarco Allen and Cyndie Howard, Karen Harding, Anita Layng and Paul Nordvig.

The events are varied, and all deserve this recognition: Ahn Trio by Mendelssohn Performing Arts Center, Black History Program by Rockford Public Library, He & She by Rockford Art Museum, La Boheme by Rockford Symphony Orchestra, Russian Nights by Rockford Dance Company, Seusical, the Musical by Community Youth Theatre, Tuesdays with Morrie by Artists’ Ensemble Theatre, and Unforgettable Art by Alzheimer’s Association.

Keep your eye on these rising Star Students: Eric Anderson, Kelsey Cratty, Kevin Earlywine, Katie Schulz, Henry Solberg, Hein Son, Kathy Yun and Jackie Whitworth.

Darcy Hill and Mary Jean Kuchenmeister have been esteemed by students and peers alike as teachers who go beyond the call of duty.

Join us at the Coronado June 7 for the fun and excitement. Doors open at 5:30 p.m., with the program beginning at 6:30 p.m. Performances include Rockford Area Music Industry Award winner Kelsey Wild, Artists’ Ensemble Theatre and the Dance Team of ArtsPlace.

I can’t thank enough the committee, volunteers and friends who have worked to make this the best Mayor’s Arts Awards ever! The event will be a celebration of the arts, with lively entertainment and a reason to feel great about Rockford. You’ll love the artistic culinary offerings by Brio and gourmet coffee by Gloria Jean’s. A perfect celebration.

Call for tickets—$25 member, $30 nonmember—at (815) 963-6765.

Anne E. O’Keefe is executive director of the Rockford Area Arts Council.

from the June 6-12, 2007, issue

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!