Mayor’s Arts Awards June 7

The Rockford Area Arts Council invites you to Celebrate the Arts Thursday, June 7, at the Mayor’s Arts Awards ceremony. Held at the Coronado Theatre, the ceremony honors local artists and advocates who made an impact over the past year. The evening includes performances by Kelsey Wild, the Artists’ Ensemble Theater, and the Rockford Area Arts Council ArtsPlace Dance Team.

Reception begins at 5:30 p.m., awards reception at 6:30 p.m. After the awards, a celebratory reception with an art auction begins at 7:30 p.m.

Nominees for Individual Artist Award are Nels Akerlund, Jodi Beach, Ingrid Neuhofer Dohm, Marc Dull, Lino Gnesda, Norm Knott, Sherry Pritz, James Radloff, Rebecca Robinson, Michael Webb and Victor Yehling.

Individual Arts Advocate Award nominees are Maggie Dimarco, Allen and Cyndie Howard, Richard and Lon Behr, Karen Harding, Anita Layng, and Paul Nordvig.

Darcy Anderson Hill and Mary Jean Kuchenmeister share the nomination for the Star Teacher Award.

The Exceptional Arts Student Award nominees are Eric Anderson, Kelsey Cratty, Kevin Earlywine, Katie Schulz, Henry Solberg, Hien Son, Jackie Whitworth and Kathy Yun.

The Corporation or Business Award nominees are Janet Wattles Center, MainStreet Financial Group, Valley Expo & Displays and Williams McCarthy, LLP.

Finally, the Creative Cultural Event Award honors local exhibits or performances. Those nominees are: Black History Program by Rockford Public Library, “HE & SHE: Vallies & Hydman-Vallien” by Rockford Art Museum, La Boheme by Rockford Symphony Orchestra, Russian Nights by Rockford Dance Company, Seussical The Musical by Christian Youth Theater, The Ahn Trio by Mendelssohn Performing Arts Center, Tuesdays with Morrie by Artists’ Ensemble Theater, and Unforgettable Art by the Alzheimer’s Association.

For information about this year’s nominees and ticket information, call (815) 963-6765 or visit

from the May 30-June 5, 2007, issue

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!