New Milford, Cherry Valley agree on boundaries

The villages of New Milford and Cherry Valley have approved a boundary agreement between their two communities.

Cherry Valley’s Village Board recently unanimously approved a boundary agreement that had been approved by New Milford’s Board Dec. 12. The 20-year agreement allows for New Milford to annex properties up to the west side of Interstate 39, while Cherry Valley is allowed to annex up to the east side of Interstate 39. Both communities see Baxter Road as an area for significant development over the next several years.

The boundary agreement allows both communities to pursue economic development within their respective areas. The agreement will also assist both communities in matters related to long-range, land-use planning and zoning.

Side facts

New Milford and Cherry Valley are two of fewer than 50 communities within Illinois that do not levy a property tax. New Milford was incorporated April 21, 1955, while Cherry Valley was incorporated Jan. 31, 1857. Cherry Valley has a boundary agreement with Rockford that expires in August 2001, while New Milford does not have a boundary agreement with the City of Rockford.

From the Dec. 27, 2006-Jan. 2, 2007, issue

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!