Real estate property tax bills arrive

Annual real estate property tax bills for 2006, payable in 2007, were mailed to Winnebago County homeowners, businesses and farms May 18. The property tax is divided into two equal installments, with due dates of June 18 and Sept. 4.

Tax payments can also be made at the Winnebago County Treasurer’s Office by mail or online at the County Treasurer’s Web site, Payments can also be made at many local banks and credit unions after the bill has been received.

There are three options at the online Web site. E-check, where tax payments are automatically withdrawn from your checking or savings account. This service, provided by AMCORE Bank, is a free service, and you do not have to have an account with AMCORE to use. Online credit card payments through Official Payments have a 2.5 percent convenience fee. Credit cards accepted are Discover, MasterCard, Visa and American Express. Credit card payments can also be made by calling 1-877-893-2869. The E-Pay, a state program, accepts credit card payments, Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Discover. A convenience fee is charged for using this service and it is a sliding fee based on the amount of taxes charged. Payment through E-Pay can also be made by calling 1-877-455-3729. The convenience fee is charged by Official Payments or the E-Pay Program; it is not charged or collected by the Winnebago County Treasurer’s office.

Discover Card is the only credit accepted when paying in person at the Treasurer’s Office.

Any property owner who does not receive a tax bill by June 4 should call the Treasurer’s office at (815) 319-4400 and ask for a duplicate bill or log on to the above Web site to print a copy. Failure to receive the tax bill does not void the tax or prevent the addition of penalties and costs. The penalty for late payment is 1.5 percent per month.

from the May 23-29, 2007, issue

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!