Rockford Speedway season starts April 1

Rockford Speedway recently released its schedule for its upcoming 59th season.

Racing begins at 6:06 p.m., Saturday, April 1 with the 29th Annual Spring Classic Weekend. Headlining the two-day event will be the Wisconsin Challenge Series, the Mid American Stock Cars and the Big 8 Late Models.

One week later, Saturday night, April 8, the first green flag of the NASCAR Dodge Weekly Series will fly at 7:07 p.m. The Wednesday night races will begin June 14 and continue weekly through Aug. 16.

Some highlights of the schedule include an Easter weekend thrill show Saturday, April 15. The first of two World Famous Trailer Race nights will be Saturday, June 10. The second, The World Famous Figure 8 Trailer Race, will be Saturday, Aug. 5.

Fireworks, on and off the track, will usher in the month of July. Racing and huge fireworks displays are on tap for Saturday, July 1, Monday, July 3 and Tuesday, July 4. The regular Wednesday night program slated for that week (July 5) will play host to what is being billed as “The World’s Smallest Fireworks Display.”

Perennial fan favorite, Doug Rose and his Green Mamba Jet Car, makes his yearly visit to the track Saturday, July 8. The Big Dawg Monster truck will rumble into the speedway as part of a night of thrills show Saturday, Sept. 9. Later that month, Sept. 22-24, drivers and cars from across the country will come to compete in the 41st Annual National Short Track Championships. The 59th season will come to a close Sunday, Oct. 22 with the Goblin 250 Enduro and Demolition Derby.

An informational meeting is set for Friday, Feb. 24 at 5 p.m. inside the Forest Hills Lodge for anyone interested in becoming a driver or crew member this year. This will also serve as an orientation/registration meeting for all returning drivers and their crew members. For more info or to receive a complete schedule for 2006, log on to or call the Speedway office at 633-1500.

Doug Halberstadt is a local resident and is track announcer at Rockford Speedway. He can be reached via e-mail at

From theFeb. 8-14, 2006, issue

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!