Rotary honors students

Outstanding area high school students and educators were honored by Rockford Rotary Club at the annual High School Awards Day recently at Memorial Hall. Each year, Rockford Rotary Club recognizes students and educators for their contributions in the areas of service and scholarship.

Katy Durham, Roosevelt Alternative High School, and Scott Johnson, Boylan Catholic High School, each received a $2,000 Burdette Anderson Memorial Scholarship.

Those honored included the following students and educators listed by school:


Marcus Lundgren, Sgt. Robert Mindach, Leslie Montoya

Boylan Catholic

Scott Johnson, Lynn Cuppini McConville, Maryjo Pirages


Joshua Reed Liggin, Judith Wyatt, Tam Nguyen


Ryan Landi, Jennifer Chycota, Katy Pierson


Rachel Day, Carol Johnson, Kyle Gress


Emily Hogshead Newcomer, Keri Mattson, Joshua Pickens

Keith School

Elin Gustafson, Dr. Ronald Lee, Patrick Herlihey

Rockford Christian

Scott Miller, Joyce Erickson, Jennifer Speckman

Rockford Lutheran

Tricia Blume, Jonathan Egan, Ryan Keith Dent


Alternative Katie Durham, William R. Donovan, Lequinn FOrrest

Rotary is an organization of business and professional people united worldwide who provide humanitarian service, encourage high ethical standards in all vocations and help build good will and peace in the world. The Rockford Downtown Rotary was chartered in 1916 and has 250 members.

From the May 4-10, 2005, issue

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!