RVC seeks nominees for Alumni Hall of Fame

The Rock Valley College Foundation is seeking nominations of prominent alumni for induction into the RVC Foundation Alumni Hall of Fame.

Nominees are judged on outstanding success in their chosen field, humanitarian service that has proven beneficial to society, continued interest and support of Rock Valley College, and nominees must have completed at least 30 college credit hours at RVC.

Nominations must be received by Jan. 15, 2006.

For a nomination to be considered, a nomination form (available from the RVC Foundation) must be completed, along with a one-page letter outlining the nominee’s accomplishments in his or her career or community. Supporting documents that further the nominee’s qualifications, such as news clippings, list of awards or a list of published works, may be included.

The nomination packet must be mailed or hand-delivered to the Rock Valley College Foundation, 3301 N. Mulford Rd., Rockford, IL 61114, on or before Jan. 15, 2006. Nominations received after this date will be considered for the 2007 program.

For more information, or to request a nomination form, contact the RVC Foundation at (815) 921-4500.

The Rock Valley College Foundation Alumni Hall of Fame members are:

Dr. Dener Bitner, ’67, pastor and community activist

Dr. JoAnn Burkholder, ’93, research scientist, professor of aquatic botany and marine sciences at North Carolina State University

Stanley Campbell, ’73 & ’75, community activist

Dr. John Hackett Jr., ’78, associate research fellow, Abbott Laboratories

Kristine Hammerstrand, ’75, director of Illinois Library Computer Systems Office

Dr. Rebecca A. Johnson, ’78, professor of gerontological nursing and public policy and director of the Center on Aging at the University of Missouri-Columbia

Tom Lichtenheld, 1971-1975, art director and children’s book author

Richard A. “Rick” Nielsen, 1967-1969, lead guitarist/songwriter, Cheap Trick

James Pirages, ’75, Rockford attorney

Martin Pocs, ’81, vice chairman of DHR, world’s sixth-largest retained executive placement firm

Steven Pugh, 1969-1971, Chief of Police, Rockford

Kevin D. Rice, ’85, detective, Rockford Police Department (awarded posthumously)

Kimberla Lawson Roby, ’87, best-selling author

Dr. Shannon Sheehan, 1976-1978, Science and Technology Corporation, evaluates new inventions and secures patents and other intellectual property

David Syverson, 1976-1978, Illinois State Senator

Larry E. Young, ’74, Major League Baseball umpire

From the Dec. 28, 2005-Jan. 3, 2006, issue

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!