Seven Bears headed to Hawaii for Pro Bowl

StoryImage( ‘/Images/Story//Auto-img-116724704727591.jpg’, ”, ‘Seven members of the Chicago Bears have been selected to play in the 2007 Pro Bowl.’);

Tourists traveling to Hawaii this February may encounter bears. No need to worry or cancel your travel plans; these aren’t the same dangerous ones you might come across if you were hiking in Alaska. These bears are usually friendly, and won’t try to hurt you, unless you happen to be playing for the American Football Conference in the 2007 National Football League’s Pro Bowl.

Seven members of the Chicago Bears have been selected to play for the National Football Conference in the NFL’s version of an all-star game, held annually in the Aloha State.

Three members of the defense were selected to the team. Linebackers Brian Urlacher and Lance Briggs, barring any injuries between now and then, will suit up for the game. Urlacher will be making his sixth Pro Bowl appearance, and Briggs will be returning for his second consecutive year. Lineman Tommie Harris was voted to the squad for the second consecutive year, but is out with a season-ending injury.

Special teamers Robbie Gould, Devin Hester and Brendon Ayanbadejo will all be making their first trip to Hawaii to play in the game.

Olin Kreutz is the lone representative from the Bears’ offense. The center will be appearing in his sixth Pro Bowl.

The seven members chosen from this season’s team are the most the Bears have had since the 1985 Super Bowl team. That year, Jim Covert, Walter Payton, Mike Singletary, Dave Duerson, Steve McMichael, Jay Hilgenberg and Wilbur Marshall wore the Bears’ helmets in the contest.

From the Dec. 27, 2006-Jan. 2, 2007, issue

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!