The Secret Confession of Rustin Parr by David Stern

The Secret Confession of Rustin Parr by David Stern

By

(Pocket Books, 1999, price $11.95)

By Susan Eurich

Community Relations Coordinator at Borders Books

What really happened that night 60 years ago when Rustin Parr, supposedly possessed by the spirit of the Blair Witch, murdered seven children? What did he mean during his final confession when he said, “I couldn’t stop it, Father. I couldn’t stop it. But at least I saved them from the worst?” The Secret Confession of Rustin Parr attempts to answer these questions and shed light on the Blair Witch legend.

The Secret Confession of Rustin Parr begins when D. A. Stern, long-time Blair Witch investigator, rushes to the side of his friend, Dominick Cazale, the priest who heard Parr’s final confession. It is obvious that Cazale wants to communicate something to Stern, but he is too weak to speak. After he passes away, Stern receives a mysterious package containing Cazale’s old journal, which details Parr’s version of the murders.

For fans of The Blair Witch Project, The Secret Confession of Rustin Parr is a must to read. Cazale’s journal entries provide a first-hand account of the incidents surrounding the Parr murders. It also gives some insight on Parr himself. However, for as much insight as the book provides, it raises never-asked questions and changes the entire concept of the Blair Witch legend.

Though the book is well written, it will only make sense after seeing The Blair Witch Project. That aside, it is an intense, fast-paced book with a twist.

For Blair Witch fans, The Secret Confession of Rustin Parr will provide as many creeps as it does answers.

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!