Wanted: Top preservation projects for national preservation awards

Wanted: Top preservation projects for national preservation awards


Washington, D.C. (Dec. 3, 2001) – Nominations are now open for the 2002 National Preservation Awards, sponsored by the National Trust for Historic Preservation. Those who have been involved in an outstanding preservation project completed in the past three years—or those who know of a company, organization or individual who has helped save a part of America’s local or national heritage—are encouraged to submit a nomination.

Nomination deadline for the National Trust/HUD Secretary’s Award and the Trustees’ Awards for Organizational Excellence, Public Policy, and Stewardship of Historic Sites is March 1, 2002.

Nominations for National Preservation Honor Awards must be submitted by May 1, 2002.

The coveted annual awards recognize singular success in preserving, rehabilitating, restoring or interpreting America’s architectural and cultural heritage. Winners will be honored at the National Preservation Conference in Cleveland, Ohio, Oct. 8-13, 2002.

This year, as part of the National Trust’s initiative to encourage corporations to support and respect historic places, the Corporate Responsibility Honor Award will recognize excellence by a national or regional chain or franchise in utilizing historic buildings, designing new infill construction compatible with historic areas, or supporting preservation-based revitalization.

The 2001 winners included the Central Park Conservancy, Denver Mayor Wellington Webb, the KiMo Theatre in Albuquerque, McClain High School in Greenfield, Ohio, and Redeemer Missionary Baptist Church in Minneapolis.

Since 1971, Honor Awards have gone to preservation projects such as Colonial Williamsburg, Va.; Grand Central Terminal, Rockefeller Center, and Ellis Island, N.Y.; the Old Post Office and Union Station, Washington, D.C.; the Buffalo (N.D.) Historical Society; Bunker Hill Community College, Chelsea, Mass.; America’s oldest McDonald’s, Downey, Calif.; Mission San Xavier del Bac, Tucson, Ariz.; the Wang Center, Boston; and the History Channel. Among past winners of the Trustees’ Awards are the Georgia Trust for Historic Preservation, Boston Mayor Thomas M. Menino, the late Sen. John Chafee (R-RI) and the Robert E. Lee Memorial Association. The National Trust/HUD Secretary’s Award has gone to winners in Denver, Cleveland, Chicago and Covington, Ky., for their work in revitalizing communities through affordable housing.

To receive nomination materials: Phone: (202) 588-6236; Fax-on-demand service: (202) 588-6444 [document #9005] E-mail: awards@nthp.org. Download the form at www.nthp.org/preservationawards Or write: Preservation Awards, National Trust for Historic Preservation, 1785 Massachusetts Ave., N.W., Washington, D.C. 20036.

The National Trust for Historic Preservation is a private, nonprofit membership organization dedicated to protecting the irreplaceable. With more than a quarter million members nationwide, it provides leadership, education, and advocacy to save America’s diverse historic places and revitalize communities. It has six regional offices and 21 historic sites, and works with thousands of local community groups in all 50 states. For more information, visit the National Trust’s Web site at www.nationaltrust.org.

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!