Wanted: Top preservation projects for

Wanted: Top preservation projects for


WASHINGTON, DC–Nominations are now open for the 2001 National Preservation Awards sponsored by the National Trust for Historic Preservation. Those who have been involved in an outstanding preservation project completed in the past three years, or those who know of a company, organization or individual who has helped save a part of America’s local or national heritage, are encouraged to submit a nomination.

Nomination deadline for the National Trust/HUD Secretary’s Award and the Trustees’ Awards for Organizational Excellence, Public Policy and Stewardship of Historic Sites is March 1.

Nominations for National Preservation Honor Awards must be submitted by May 1.

The coveted annual awards receive singular success in preserving, rehabilitating, restoring or interpreting America’s architectural and cultural heritage. Winners will be honored at the National Preservation Conference in Providence, R.I., Oct. 16-21.

This year’s winners included Chicago Mayor Richard M. Daley, the Los Angeles Conservancy, Radio City Music Hall, Denver Public Schools, Kimpton Hotel & Restaurant Group and the USS Missouri, where Japan surrendered to the Allies in 1945.

This year, as part of the National Trust initiative to encourage the continued use of historic schools, the Historic Neighborhood School Honor Award will recognize excellence in the rehabilitation of older and historic neighborhood schools. Nominated projects must involve rehabilitated schools currently in use as educational facilities.

Since 1971, Honor Awards have gone to preservation projects such as Colonial Williamsburg, Va.; Grand Central Station, Rockefeller Center and Ellis Island, N.Y.; the Old Post Office and Union Station, Washington, D.C.; the Buffalo (N.D.) Historical Society; Bunker Hill Community College, Chelsea, Mass.; America’s oldest McDonald’s, Downey, Calif.; Mission San Xavier del Bac, Tucson, Ariz.; the Wang Center, Boston; and the History Channel. Among past winners of the Trustees’ Awards are the Georgia Trust for Historic Preservation, Boston Mayor Thomas M. Menino, the late Sen. John Chafee (R-RI) and the Robert E. Lee Memorial Association.

To receive nomination awards:

Phone: (202) 588-6236; Fax-on-demand service: (202)588-6444 (document #9005)

E-mail: awards@nthp.org. Download the form at http://www.nationaltrust.org

Or write: Preservation Awards, National Trust for Historic Preservation, 1785 Massachusetts Ave., N.W., Washington, D.C. 20036.

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!