Rockford Art Museum names 2010 Rockford Midwestern winners

From press release

The 2010 Rockford Midwestern, the 71st presentation of this exhibition of new work by outstanding regional artists, opened Friday, Jan. 22, at Rockford Art Museum. Juried by Milwaukee gallery owner Tory Folliard, Juror’s Award winners, announced at the Jan. 22 opening, included the following, by category:

Honorable mentions

Jay Paul Bell (DeKalb, Ill.)—Highway Landscape #MW90, 2008, acrylic

Katie Bell (Rockford)—Sink, 2008, pastel and collage on paper

Frances A. Cox (Evanston, Ill.)—Summer (#644) Tsunami #3, 2008, oil on canvas

Ricardo Manuel Díaz (Chicago)—Triciclo (Tricycle) , 2007, black gesso, conté on paper mounted on linen

Lynn Fischer (Machesney Park, Ill.)—Structured Organic Series: Group #2, 2009, ceramic

Mille Guldbeck (Grand Rapids, Ohio)—Approaching, 2009, gouache, glue and pigment

Matthew P. Hagemann (Chicago)—Dream #3, 2007, oil on canvas

William Lemke (Waukesha, Wis.)—Sunflower and Clouds Nebraska, 2008, black and white photograph

Nancy Pirri (Chicago)—Arabella, 2009, soda clay/soda fire—c.10 reduction

Robin McCauley (Rockford)—Hair Mare, 2007, horse hair in canvas

Keith C. Nelson (Milwaukee)—Untitled (Blocks), 2009, encaustic on four panels

First Place 2-D

Eric Holubow (Chicago)—Doorway Maze, 2008, photograph

First Place 3-D

Karen Hanmer (Glenview, Ill.)—Mirage, 2009, mixed media

Best of Show

Joel Sheesley (Wheaton, Ill.)—Dream at a Crossroads, 2008, oil on canvas

2010 Dean Alan Olson Purchase Award

Joel Sheesley (Wheaton, Ill.)—All the Days, 2009, oil on canvas

Rockford Midwestern remains

on display through April 25

The 2010 Rockford Midwestern remains on display in the museum’s Funderburg and Kuller galleries through Sunday, April 25.

For more about this biennial exhibition, call (815) 968-2787 or log on to Rockford Art Museum is at 711 N. Main St., Rockford.

From the Jan. 27-Feb. 2, 2010 issue

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!