Guilford wins first boys’ bowling state title

From press release

The IHSA Boys’ Bowling State Championship trophy returns to Rockford in 2011, as Guilford High School won the event for the first time in school history Saturday, Jan. 29, at St. Clair Bowl in O’Fallon with a two-day total pinfall of 12,696.

Senior Nic Aures (2,609 two-day total pinfall), junior Cory Lenz (2,581), freshman Trustin Givens (2,548), senior Colton Magnuson (2,503), senior Mike Sharp (1,418) and senior Keifer Nassab (1,037) entered day two of the competition in second place, trailing Vernon Hills by 163 pins. Head Coach Brad Sommer’s Vikings made up the deficit and then some, posting a 309-pin victory over runner-up Vernon Hills. Jefferson High School was the first and only Rockford school to win a boys’ bowling title until Saturday, as Jefferson won the inaugural state tourney in 2003.

The individual crown went to Lockport senior Kyle Anderson for the second consecutive season, marking the first time in state history a boys’ bowler had won two individual state championships. Anderson tallied a two-day pinfall of 2,817, 18 pins better than his winning total of 2,799 in 2010.

Lake Zurich’s Mike Schmitt (2,772) and Lake Park’s Aaron Adams (2,749) placed second and third individually, respectively, while Aures’ total was good for 10th individually to pace the team champs.

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!