70th Young Artist Show: High School Division opens March 6

“Windows,” by Leah Budde, senior at Boylan Catholic High School. (Image provided)

From press release

The 70th Young Artist Show: High School Division opens from 1 to 3 p.m., Sunday, March 6, with awards at 2 p.m., at 711 N. Main St., Rockford.

Rockford Art Museum’s (RAM) 70th Young Artist Show begins with a free public opening and awards presentation of its High School Division, an annual juried competition that features exceptional artwork by students from schools within 50 miles of the museum. Sponsored by Women’s Art Board and Williams-Manny, the exhibit remains on display through Sunday, April 3.

Eighteen schools submitted 843 pieces of artwork for consideration by this year’s juror, who chose 186 pieces, representing 147 students from 18 high schools, for inclusion and awards in the 2011 exhibit. The juror does not know the artist’s name, grade level, or school affiliation when selections are made. Awards will be announced at 2 p.m. during the public opening March 6.

Participating schools are: Auburn High School, Belvidere High School, Belvidere North High School, Boylan Catholic High School, Christian Life High School, East High School, Eastland High School, Guilford High School, Harlem High School, Hinckley-Big Rock High School, Hononegah High School, Huntley High School, Jefferson High School, Rockford Christian High School, Rockford Lutheran High School, Roosevelt Alternative High School, Spectrum High School, and Winnebago High School.

The 2011 juror was nationally-recognized artist Betsy Youngquist, a Rockford native. She received her bachelor’s degree from North Park University, Chicago, in 1987, and her master’s degree in art education from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1992. During the past several years, Youngquist has shown her work in galleries, juried exhibitions and art fairs throughout the United States. She served as juror for the 60th Young Artist Show in 2001. Learn more about her at www.byart.com.

This event will take place in the Anderson Gallery at Rockford Art Museum, 711 N. Main St. Hours are Monday through Saturday, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., and Sunday, noon to 5 p.m. After the free public opening, admission is $7 adults; $3 students and seniors; and free for children younger than 12. Donation Day is every Tuesday, all day.

For more information, contact RAM at (815) 968-2787 or staff@rockfordartmuseum.org.

Exhibiting students

Following by school are the students exhibiting in the 70th Young Artist Show: High School Division. Teachers are included in parentheses after the school name.

Auburn High School (Betsy DeGunther and Margret Hesler Hynes)—Haley Adams, senior; Angelo Arroyo, junior; Nidha Khan, senior; Kiryn Prochnicki, senior; and Madeleine Witt, senior.

Belvidere High School (Laura Davis and Jilian Reints)—Richard Gessert, senior.

Belvidere North High School (Mike LaScola and Troy Yunk)—Carin Cameron, senior; Bobby Drake, senior; Dakota Hattendorf, senior; and Kayla Johnson, sophomore.

Boylan Catholic High School (Melodie Hueber, Jennifer Mullin and Carol Patterson)—Jaelyn Anderson, junior; Kyle Beckett, junior; Leah Budde, senior; Taylor Carlson, senior; Allison Corcoran, junior; Stacy Cussen, junior; Illiana Durbin, junior; Jenny Falzone, senior; Alec Filak, senior; Abbie Francisco, junior; Anna Girgenti, freshman; Shannon Goebel, junior; Kelsey Gugliuzza, sophomore; Rebekah Hilby, senior; Sadie Hooker, senior; Erin Miller, senior; Mallery Myers, junior; Anna Rinaldo, junior; Kasia Romanowski, senior; Sarah St. John, senior; Elizabeth Schaer, senior; Monica Skrzypczak, sophomore; and Claire Strominger, junior.

Christian Life High School (Bruce McDonald and Diane Wing)—Kyle Bates, sophomore; Sarah Farag, senior; Veronica Groebner, freshman; Emily Held, senior; Michael Klemm, freshman; Teija Muns, freshman; Seonghui Park, senior; Joseph Rohner, sophomore; and Raykell Scott, junior.

East High School (John DeRango, Michelle Jones and Tim Lange)—Brianna Alexander, junior; Gavin Barlow, sophomore; Katerri Blan, sophomore; Jacalyn Bradt, senior; Kristianna Bubela, sophomore; Miguel Dominguez, senior; Mariah Harris, senior; Jasper Hitch, senior; Jonathan Hutchins, senior; Austin Ray Lange, junior; Mariel Maturano, sophomore; Jessica Peterson, senior; Jennifer Sanchez, senior; and Shaniqua Watkins, senior.

Eastland High School (Jean Matheson)—Carissa Gruhn, senior; Jessica Freidag, junior; Hope Linker, senior; Sara Runyan, senior; and Kara Weber, senior.

Guilford High School (Lisa Doll, Julie Hoyer, Kyna Matula, Rebecca Pelley and Elizabeth Woodyatt)—Matthew Ballew, senior; Hannah Garl Cobb, junior; Alexis Compton, senior; Winston Cuevas, senior ; Justin Demus, senior; Zia Diaz, sophomore; Rodrigo Dominguez, senior; Sara Hallstein, sophomore; Ashley LaRue, senior; Jesús Rincón, senior; Anna Roszkowski, junior; Nathan Smith, senior; and Marquan Stovall, senior.

Harlem High School (Alison Agustsson and Barb Kurilla)—Jennifer Adams, junior; Brianna Barnes, sophomore; Shelbee Butterfield, senior; Heather Greene, senior; Cassie Loos, senior; Chelsea Ross, senior; Lexi Ross, junior; Chelsey Runberg, senior; and Koty Stannard, senior.

Hinckley-Big Rock High School (Vicki Kanik)—Erika Carlson, sophomore; Cody Laho, sophomore; and Paige Schreiber, sophomore.

Hononegah High School (Jennifer Multhauf and Arra Van Galder)—Kara Bottensek, junior; Ben Minard, sophomore; and Sarah Tolmie, senior.

Huntley High School (Jillian Corapi, Kate Duchene, Valerie Lindquist, Bridget Regan and Sandra Spear)—Lauren Angeles, senior; Jennifer Beruscha, senior; Keish Camara, sophomore; Dave Cieck, senior; Marisa Dalcerro, sophomore; Joe DeLuca, senior; Jennifer Dinh, sophomore; Rachael Drehobl, junior; Amanda Easley, sophomore; Angela Pelagio, sophomore; Arissa Podraza, senior; Jamie Quicho, senior; Ian Stellmach, senior; Ryan Woods, senior; and Kuba Wrobel, sophomore.

Jefferson High School (Steve Hoover, Gonzalo Reyes, Lynn Stockton and Gail Zernia)—Sara Briseno, senior; Erika Dusavage, senior; Vincent Edwards, junior; Damario Fair, senior; Angelica Gonzalez, junior; Ryan Hamilton, senior; Elaina Hazelwood, sophomore; Robert Holliman, senior; Lea Hoskins, junior; Threassance Imudia, senior; Clayton Janicke, senior; Lorenzo Jimenez, sophomore; Tierney Johnson, senior; Tiera Jones, senior; Abigail Lafranca, junior; Ryan Letsinger, senior; Alma Mandujano, senior; Brittany Manuell, sophomore; Carly Moore, senior; Natalie Mork, senior; Randi Reis, senior; Phillip Rodriguez, junior; Jenna Scheidt, senior; and Yuliana Torres, junior.

Rockford Christian High School (Liz Day and Kelli Sabin)—Olivia Dvorak, senior; and Carolyn Sweet, senior.

Rockford Lutheran High School (Jean Morris)—Caitlin Brown, senior.

Roosevelt Alternative High School (Leslie Arbetman and Kyle Wolfe)—Eric Acosta, junior; Kia Barnhart, junior; Nathaniel Berchiolly, sophomore; Elyssa Dusavage, junior; Noah Frank, junior; Randell Gary, senior; André Meico Gowan, senior; Charvez Hansel, senior; Juan Hernandez, sophomore; Bianca Lopez, senior; Kaylan Mitchell, junior; Crystal Quitno, senior; Glen Smith, junior; and Aiesha Thompson, senior.

Spectrum High School (Steve Coogan and Andrea Lily)—Jonah Antosch, senior.

Winnebago High School (Lisa Jimenez and Jamie Zander-Tarara)—Chelsea Carlovsky, junior.

From the March 2-8, 2011, issue

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!