Local Government: Rockton Candidates Forum March 31

Staff Report

The Northern IL Tea Party will present Rockton Candidates Night at 6:30 p.m., Thursday, March 31, at the Greater Rockton Community Centre, 302 W. Main St.

This will be an opportunity for voters to question the candidates and learn the issues.
In the race for Rockton Village Trustee, six candidates competing for three seats include Zack Baker, Corey Magnus, Patricia Davey, Scott Fridly, Zig Sekula and Scott Wallace. Davey and Fridly are serving as Village trustees.

Three candidates are seeking the office of Village Clerk: Township Assessor Dana Adams, Sheila K. Ritter and Brenda Warren. Village Mayor Dale Adams is not up for election this year.

Rockton, among the three stateline communities in our area (Roscoe and South Beloit being the others), has experienced mushrooming growth. Many of the residents of the new subdivisions don’t know “Who’s on First” in local government.

Many voters are not familiar with local government issues. This is their chance to take the measure of the candidates and issues before the April 5 election.

One issue that has divided the village is the current lawsuit over the village’s attempted acquisition of the Rock Energy Co-op electrical and gas utility serving the village.

The village residents have had the benefit of the utility and a patronage refund from the cooperative, without village responsibility for infrastructure and employment costs. Estimates are that the lawsuit has cost village residents nearly $1 million in legal fees. 

From the March 30-April 5, 2011 issue

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!