New law requires employers to give unclaimed paychecks to state treasurer after one year

Online Staff Report

SPRINGFIELD — Illinois Treasurer Dan Rutherford is pleased that House Bill 1560 was signed into law earlier this week.

Under this new law, employers are required to turn over unclaimed paychecks to the treasurer’s office after the paychecks have been abandoned for one year. The law previously required paychecks to the treasurer’s office after five years.

“My hope is that this change in law will give Illinois residents quicker access to their unclaimed or lost checks,” said Rutherford. “Without reducing this period, many people may not know they have another paycheck waiting for them since they would traditionally contact the treasurer’s office for unclaimed property.”

On average, the treasurer’s Unclaimed Property Division receives around 37,000 unclaimed paychecks per year, which amount to about $5 million. Unclaimed paychecks only account for 3-4 percent of the Unclaimed Property Division’s total remittance.

“Sometimes people will leave a job and just flat out forget that they have another paycheck coming to them,” Rutherford said. “Changing this law should enable the treasurer’s office to put money in their pockets sooner through our efforts to reunite people with their money.”

The Unclaimed Property Division currently has $1.5 billion in cash, plus the contents from Illinois bank safety deposit boxes that have been abandoned for at least five years.

The Cash Dash program helps reunite owners with their unclaimed property. On average, the Cash Dash program returns about $80 million annually to owners. It is common for people to lose track of their assets when they move or when loved ones pass away.

Businesses and banks are required to turn over unclaimed accounts to the treasurer’s office. Some examples of unclaimed property currently held by the treasurer’s office include the following:

• Money in inactive savings and checking accounts;

• Unpaid wages or commissions;

• Stocks, bonds and mutual funds;

• Money orders and bill overpayments;

• Paid-up life insurance policies; and

• Safety deposit box contents.

To find out if you have unclaimed property through Cash Dash, visit the treasurer’s website at and follow the Cash Dash link. The website is updated weekly to reflect new properties remitted to the office.

Additionally, Cash Dash teams conduct regular outreach across the state, place twice-annual inserts in major newspapers and send direct mail to new single-owner claimants with property worth more than $100.

Contact the Unclaimed Property Division by calling (217) 785-6998 or e-mailing

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!