Eighth Annual Regional Juried Exhibition opens Nov. 18 at Freeport Art Museum

• Exhibit featuring work by contemporary artists from tri-state area juried by Doc Slafkosky and Jerry Kortman of Rockford’s Kortman Gallery

Staff Report

FREEPORT, Ill. — Freeport Art Museum’s (FAM) Eighth Annual Regional Juried Exhibition will feature work by contemporary artists living in the tri-state region of Illinois, Wisconsin and Iowa.

Created to encourage new work by both established and emerging artists, this show has been building momentum over the last decade and has grown to include more than 160 submissions each year. A variety of media is accepted, from traditional materials such as painting and sculpture, to conceptual and new media techniques, including video, interactive media, performance and installation art.

Jurors selected 52 pieces and chose recipients for the cash awards given to first, second and third place. Winners will be announced at the opening reception from 5 to 7 p.m., Friday, Nov. 18.

Doc Slafkosky and Jerry Kortman, from Rockford’s JR Kortman Center for Design, served as jurors this year for submissions and awards. Founded in 1986, JR Kortman Center for Design is a store and art gallery dedicated to contemporary art and design. The store features design in a variety of forms, from functional to fine art, while the upstairs gallery exhibits art by local, regional and international artists.

Artists who had work chosen include Ellen Bartels (Freeport, Ill.), Carrie Baxter, (Freeport, Ill.), Rachel Borchers (Chicago), Thomas Brain (Rockford), Ingrid Dohm (Rockford), Tabatha Dougherty (Roscoe, Ill.), Dan Edler (Cedarville, Ill.), Galen Gibson-Cornell (Madison, Wis.), Roger Goodspeed (Cedarville, Ill.), Shirley Guay (Amboy, Ill.), John Hansen (Iowa City, Iowa), Will Haun (Rockford), Norm Knott (Rockford), Lisa Koch (Madison, Wis.), Tony Kokes (Chicago), Paula Kuehl (McHenry, Ill.), Edward Maglietta (Freeport, Ill.), Carolyn Mastroianni (Freeport, Ill.), Tim McGinnis (Freeport, Ill.), Nanette Mosher (Freeport, Ill.), Alice O’Neil (Madison, Wis.), Ann Orlowski (Madison, Wis.), Paul Pinzarrone (Rockford), Sara Pooley (Chicago), Bob Reaven (Rockford), Amy Regutti (Madison, Wis.), Bob Rivoire (Galena, Ill.), Carol Robinson (Downers Grove, Ill.), Ted Simmering (Byron, Ill.), Linda Vietmeyer (Cedarville, Ill.), Brad Walker (Savanna, Ill.), Audrey Waner (Davenport, Iowa), Joan Webster-Vore (Hudson, Iowa), Kathleen Wilken (Freeport, Ill.) and Dawn Wohlford-Metallo (Bettendorf, Iowa).

FAM is at 121 N. Harlem Ave., Freeport, and is open 10 a.m.-5 p.m., Tuesday-Friday, and noon-5 p.m., Saturday. Tours may be scheduled by calling (815) 235-9755. Admission to the museum is free, although donations are accepted.

From the Nov. 16-22, 2011, issue

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!