Rockford Symphony Youth Orchestra’s Fall Concert Dec. 10

RSYO Conductor Daniel Black

Staff Report

Rockford Symphony Youth Orchestra (RSYO) will present its Fall Concert at 3 p.m., Saturday, Dec. 10, in the newly-renovated auditorium at West Middle School, 1900 N. Rockton Ave., Rockford.

Sharefest volunteers contributed time and material over the past year to make this renovation possible.

RSYO Conductor Daniel Black will lead the orchestra in a performance of selections by Pytor Ilytch Tchaikovsky, Richard Wagner, Modest Mussorgsky and William Grant Still.

The concert will also feature the premiere of an original composition by Black titled “Steps Upon the Sea,” commissioned for the RSYO. Also included will be additional performances by the RSYO Brass Choir under the direction of Vicki Hastings and an excerpt from Beethoven’s 5th Symphony performed by the RSYO Honors Chamber Orchestra.

Admission is $6 for students and $8 for adults. Tickets are available at the Rockford Symphony Orchestra Box Office at 711 N. Main St., Rockford, until Friday, Dec. 9, and will also be available at the concert. Sharefest volunteers are invited to attend the performance for free and are encouraged to wear their T-shirts.

The Rockford Symphony Orchestra is the parent organization of the RSYO. Founded in 1965, the RSYO offers high-quality music education opportunities through challenging orchestral literature to young musicians throughout northern Illinois and southern Wisconsin.

Call (815) 972-2939 or visit for more details.

From the Dec. 7-13, 2011, issue

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!