‘71st Young Artist Show: Youth Division’ opens April 15

“Festive Elephants of India” by Samantha Miller, fourth grade at Kinnikinnick Elementary School, Roscoe, Ill.

Staff Report

Rockford Art Museum’s (RAM) 71st Young Artist Show: Youth Division begins Sunday, April 15, with a free public opening from 1 to 3 p.m., with awards presented at 2 p.m.

The annual exhibit showcases outstanding artwork by students in kindgergarten through eighth grade at public and private schools in Winnebago County. Art teachers select the pieces for display at their respective school.

This year’s Youth Division features paintings, drawings, prints and sculpture that represent 444 students from 72 schools. Recognition awards, one per grade level, will be presented at 2 p.m. during the public opening April 15.

Sponsored by the Community Foundation of Northern Illinois and Women’s Art Board of Rockford Art Museum, the exhibit remains on view through May 20 at RAM, 711 N. Main St., Rockford; K-12 students and teachers at all area schools receive free admission through May 20.

Following are recognition award recipients per grade level:

Eighth Grade — Wendy Flores, St. Peter Cathedral School, Rockford

Seventh Grade — Savannah Crews, Roscoe Middle School

Sixth Grade — Tori Siegworth, Olson Park Elementary School, Machesney Park, Ill.

“Sunshine” by Michael McKinney, fifth grade at Walker Elementary School, Rockford.

Fifth Grade — Michael McKinney, Walker Elementary School, Rockford

Fourth Grade — Ramzi Torbey, Spectrum Progressive School, Rockford

Third Grade — Alonso Bautista, Marsh Elementary School, Rockford

Second Grade — Jacob Kastner, Stone Creek Elementary School, Roscoe, Ill.

First Grade — Sofia Rayon, Washington Academy, Rockford

Kindergarten — Zaida Barron, White Swan Elementary, Rockford

For more about the exhibit, contact RAM at (815) 968-2787 or visit www.rockfordartmuseum.org. Regular museum hours are 10 a.m.-5 p.m., Monday-Saturday; and noon-5 p.m., Sunday. Admission is $7 for adults, $3 for students or seniors, free for children 12 and younger, and free for everyone every Tuesday.

Following is a list of schools participating in the 71st Young Artist Show: Youth Division:

Allegro Academy, Rockford; Beyer Elementary School, Rockford; Blaesing Homeschool; Bloom Elementary School, Rockford; Brookview Elementary School, Rockford; Carlson Elementary School, Rockford; Cherry Valley Elementary School, Rockford; Christian Life Elementary School, Rockford; Conklin Elementary School, Rockford; Easter Seals Autism Therapeutic School, Rockford; Eisenhower Middle School, Rockford; Ellis Arts Academy, Rockford; Flinn Middle School, Rockford; Froberg Elementary School, Rockford; and Gregory Elementary School, Rockford.

Haskell Elementary School, Rockford; Hillman Elementary School, Rockford; Holy Family Catholic School, Rockford; Johnson Elementary School, Rockford; Kinnikinnick Elementary School, Roscoe, Ill.; Kishwaukee Elementary School, Rockford; Lathrop Elementary School, Rockford; Ledgewood Elementary School, Roscoe, Ill.; Lewis Lemon Elementary School, Rockford; Lincoln Middle School, Rockford; and Loves Park Elementary School.

“Kitty Cats” by Seth Richardson, kindergarten at Christian Life Elementary School, Rockford.

Machesney Elementary School, Machesney Park, Ill.; Maple Elementary School, Loves Park, Ill.; Maria Montessori School, Rockford; Markuson Homeschool, Rockford; Marquette Elementary School, Machesney Park, Ill.; Marsh Elementary School, Rockford; McIntosh Elementary School, Rockford; Nashold Elementary School, Rockford; Nelson Elementary School, Rockford; and Olson Park Elementary School, Machesney Park, Ill.

Parker Early Learning Center, Machesney Park, Ill.; Pecatonica Elementary School; Pecatonica Middle School; Prairie Hill Elementary School, South Beloit, Ill.; Ralston Elementary School, Machesney Park, Ill.; RESA Middle School, Rockford; Riverdahl Elementary School, Rockford; Rock Cut Elementary School, Loves Park, Ill.; Rockford Christian Elementary School, Rockford; Rockford Christian Middle School, Rockford; Rockford Lutheran Academy, Rockford; Rockton Grade School; Rolling Green Elementary School, Rockford; and Roscoe Middle School; Roser Homeschool.

Shirland School; Simon Elementary School, Winnebago, Ill.; Spectrum Progressive School, Rockford; Spring Creek Elementary School, Rockford; St. Bernadette School, Rockford; St. James School, Rockford; St. Paul Lutheran School, Rockford; St. Peter Cathedral School, Rockford; St. Peter Catholic School, South Beloit, Ill.; St. Rita Catholic School, Rockford; and Stone Creek Elementary School, Roscoe, Ill.

Thompson Elementary School, Rockford; Walker Elementary School, Rockford; Washington Academy, Rockford; Welsh Elementary School, Rockford; West Middle School, Rockford; West View Elementary School, Rockford; White Swan Elementary School, Rockford; Whitman Post Elementary School, Rockton, Ill.; Willowbrook Middle School, South Beloit, Ill.; Windsor Elementary School, Loves Park, Ill.; and Winnebago Middle School.

From the April 11-17, 2012, issue

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!