Rockford author releases third book in children’s adventure series

Rockford author Max Elliot Anderson’s Sam Cooper Adventure Series includes “Lost Island Smugglers” (from left), “Captain Jack’s Treasure” and “River Rampage.” (Photo provided)

Staff Report

Rockford author Max Elliot Anderson has published his latest adventure for readers 8 and older. River Rampage is perfect for summer reading fun.

I grew up as a struggling, reluctant reader,” Anderson said. “It was difficult for me to stay with a book till the end.”

Anderson’s professional career has included the production of hundreds of dramatic films, video programs and thousands of television commercials.

Kids tell me that reading one of my adventures or mysteries is like being in an exciting or scary movie,” Anderson said. “And it’s good scary, not dark. I think it comes from so many years of film productions. That experience helps me to bring the same excitement and heart-pounding action and adventures to the books I write.”

Bestselling author Jerry B. Jenkins says, “Max Elliot Anderson brings a lifetime of dramatic film and video production to the pages of his action adventures and mysteries.”

And bestselling author Bill Myers adds, “Sam Cooper Adventures are like good, family movies … as an ordinary kid finds himself in exciting and extraordinary adventures!”

River Rampage is book No. 3 in the Sam Cooper Adventure Series. Sam Cooper and his friends have the chance of a lifetime to go rafting down the mighty Colorado River. The rains have been heavy this season, turning the raging river even more treacherous. The boys become separated from the main group, their rubber raft is going flat, and now they’re on their own. They have their hands full with a crusty prospector, his gold mine, a gang of outlaw bikers and a desperate river escape on their makeshift wooden raft. Think that’s the worst that could happen? Well, it isn’t.

Lost Island Smugglers and Captain Jack’s Treasure round out the series.

There are discussions about expanding this series,” Anderson said. “All of my other books are stand-alone stories with different characters and settings. My blog, Books for Boys, gives more details.”

These adventures and mysteries provide plenty of page-turning excitement for summer reading as Sam, Tony and Tyler get into and out of one scrape after another.

You’d think that getting their boat smashed to pieces and stranding them on Lost Island would have been enough of an adventure,” Anderson said, “but that was only the beginning. River Rampage is the third book in the series, and the boys’ summer is hardly half over.”

Jenny Rose calls this a contemporary Hardy Boys series. Marilyn Rockett, executive editor of Homeschooling Today magazine says, “Some have said that Sam Cooper Adventures are like good family movies, and Anderson brings his award-winning film and video production experience to the written page in stories that will encourage boys to read.”

Others have called these great adventures and exciting books that younger readers will relish.

River Rampage (168 pages, ISBN: 9781935600152) is published by Port Yonder Press .

See the River Rampage video at

The Books for Boys Blog is at

From the June 6-12, 2012, issue

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!