Regional Juried Exhibition opens Nov. 17 at Freeport Art Museum

Staff Report

FREEPORT, Ill. — The Ninth Annual Regional Juried Exhibition, which features work by artists living in Illinois, Wisconsin and Iowa, opens Saturday Nov. 17, at Freeport Art Museum (FAM), 121 N. Harlem Ave., Freeport, Ill. The show runs through Feb. 9, 2013.

Created to encourage contemporary art, this show provides an opportunity for established and emerging artists to debut their latest work.

The Regional Juried Exhibition has been building momentum over the last decade and has grown to include more than 160 submissions each year. A variety of media are accepted, from traditional materials such as painting and sculpture, to conceptual and new techniques including video, interactive media, performance and installation art.

FAM has gained the distinguished reputation of displaying a range of contemporary art, allowing this exhibition to become a favorite among visitors. The invited juror selected 53 pieces and chose recipients for the cash awards for first, second and third place. Winners will be announced at the opening reception from 5 to 7 p.m., Friday, Nov. 16, followed by a gallery walk with the award recipients.

This year, Lynn Fischer-Carlson served as juror. Fisher-Carlson received a bachelor’s in fine arts from Illinois State University and a master’s in fine arts from Northern Illinois University and is a professor of art at Rock Valley Community College. During her tenure of almost 15 years at RVC, she founded and developed the Ceramic Arts program and has served on the Arts Instructional Committee (AIC).

Artists who had work chosen for the exhibition include Jean Apgar (Rockford), Chris Arrecis (Chicago), Scott Cavanah (Peoria, Ill.), John Deill (Rockford), Edward Derwent (Chicago), Jackie DeWall (Forreston, Ill.), Dan Edler (Cedarville, Ill.), Juan Fernandez (Highwood, Ill.), Joan Flynn (Freeport, Ill.), Sharon France (Malta,Ill.), Emily Franklin (DeKalb, Ill.), Norm Knott (Rockford), Lisa Koch (Madison, Wis.), Tony Kokes (Chicago), Kari McDonald (Rockford), Tim McGinnis (Freeport, Ill.), Nanette Mosher (Freeport, Ill.), Tom Neiman (Chicago), Melissa Parages (Pearl City, Ill.), Paul Pinzarrone (Machesney Park, Ill.), Brian Reis (St. Charles, Ill.), Duane Smith (Freeport, Ill.), Amelia Spinney (DeKalb, Ill.), Brad Walker (Savanna, Ill.) and Kathleen Wilken (Freeport, Ill.).

For more about the show, visit or call FAM at (815) 235-9755.

From the Nov. 14-20, 2012, issue

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!