4-Hers honored for outstanding achievement

Ogle County’s top 4-H members were honored for outstanding achievement at a special program Nov. 18 in the Oregon Coliseum.

Top county honors went to 4-H teens Rebecca Eden, Oregon, and Bethany Fike, Pearl City. Eden and Fike were the recipients of the Co-op Watch Awards sponsored by Ogle County Farm Bureau and its affiliates. Watches are awarded each year to the two 4-Hers with the most impressive records of long-term leadership and service at the club level and beyond.

Jill Ebens, Oregon, was the recipient of a $50 cash award sponsored by the Ogle County 4-H Foundation. The Foundation Award is presented annually to a single 4-Her who has shown leadership skill, a willingness to help with 4-H activities, and has served as a positive example to younger members.

Four youth were challenged to greater leadership and service as recipients of the “I Dare You” Leadership Award. New owners of William Danforth’s inspiring book, I Dare You, these youth were selected based on their previous leadership, citizenship and project work. Winners included Tyler Hanlin, Byron; Katie Roush, Malta; Heather Stranberg, Oregon; and Kirstin McIntyre, Stillman Valley.

4-H Fair Animal Exhibit Traveling Trophies are awarded each year to clubs that maintained the most impressive stall exhibits at the 4-H Fair. The second-place trophy, sponsored by Oregon Rotary, went to Carefree 4-H Club, Oregon. The first-place trophy, sponsored by Pomona Grange, went by By-Y-Badgers 4-H Club, Byron.

Other special award winners included: Outstanding Club Presidents: Gracie Mingus, Byron; Outstanding Club Vice Presidents: Carley Ackland, Rochelle; Amanda Headon, Rochelle; Outstanding Club Secretaries: Rebecca Eden, Oregon; Heather Stranberg, Oregon; Outstanding Club Treasurers: Brandon Imel, Polo; Katie Roush, Malta; Outstanding Club Reporters: Karli Miller, Oregon; Grace Mongan, Oregon; Outstanding Club Historians: Callie Ackland, Rochelle; Gabrielle Harding, Rochelle; Outstanding Club Recreation: Mahalia Freier, Rochelle; Garret Moser, Mount Morris; Isaac Charbonneau, Leaf River; Bits ’N Reins Traveling Horse Trophy: Amanda Headon, Rochelle.

Six 4-Hers were selected to represent Ogle County 4-H in the state 4-H records competition in January 2013. They are: Zach Ankney, Stillman Valley; Jill Ebens, Oregon; Rebecca Eden, Oregon; Joseph Ring, Oregon; Michael Ring, Oregon; and Haley Shores, Freeport.

From the Dec. 5-11, 2012, issue

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!