‘Young Artist Show: High School Division’ features work by 108 students from 17 schools

Online Staff Report

Rockford Art Museum’s (RAM) 72nd Young Artist Show begins Sunday, March 3, with a free, public opening and awards presentation of its High School Division, an annual juried competition that features exceptional artwork by students from schools within 50 miles of the museum.

The free public opening is from 1 to 3 p.m. (awards at 2 p.m.), Sunday, March 3, at the museum, 711 N. Main St., Rockford. The exhibit remains on display through Sunday, April 7.

The 72nd Young Artist Show is sponsored by Women’s Art Board of Rockford Art Museum, and the Thomas and Kathleen Laird Family Foundation.

Twenty schools submitted 1,003 pieces of artwork for consideration by this year’s jurors, who chose 151 pieces that represent 108 students from 17 schools for display at the museum and for awards. On view are paintings, drawings, sculptures, photography, mixed media and digital artwork. The two jurors did not know the artist’s name, grade level or school affiliation when selections were made. Awards will be announced at 2 p.m. during the public opening March 3.

New this year is a concurrent student exhibit, “Arts of March,” on display March 1-30 at Nicholas Conservatory and Gardens, 1324 N. Second St., Rockford, that includes 26 works representing 26 students at 17 schools. This show is a partnership between RAM, Nicholas Conservatory and Gardens, and Rockford Park District in support of National Youth Art Month and the Illinois Art Education Association. Learn more at ilaea.org/youth.

A total of 133 students at 18 schools are participating in the 72nd Young Artist Show.

For more details, contact RAM at (815) 968-2787 or visit rockfordartmuseum.org.

2013 jurors

Michael x. Ryan is director of student-run galleries and projects at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. He is also co-chairman of the Curriculum Development Committee for the Advanced Placement (AP) Studio Art Program and a Portfolio Review Exam Leader, where last year they reviewed more than 34,000 portfolios.

Cynthia Hellyer Heinz is foundations coordinator at Northern Illinois University, and works with first-year students through their transition at the university. Both jurors are not only educators but also full-time artists; learn more about them at michaelxryan.com and cynthiahellyerheinz.com.

Participating students by school

Auburn High School, Rockford — Marquan Simon, senior; and Bert Tucker, junior. (Teachers: Betsy DeGunther, Allison Marcon and Brock McWilliams.)

Auburn Creative and Performing Arts (CAPA) High School, Rockford — Elizabeth Ady, junior; Ling Chou, sophomore; Cynthia Ho, freshman; Camille Sanchez, sophomore; and Sabrina Tassoni, freshman. (Teacher: Leslie Arbetman.)

Belvidere High School — Sylvia Alamilla, senior; Tyler Kappes, junior; Niko Munoz, sophomore; and Zach Swanson, senior. (Teachers: Laura Davis and Jilian Reints.)

Belvidere North High School — Alyssa Alvardo, sophomore; Vincent Coslovich, sophomore; and Aurelia Tauscher, senior. (Teachers: Edith Obenchain and Troy Yunk.)

Boylan Catholic High School, Rockford — Paige Bauling, senior; Dana Dray, senior; Alena Eitenmiller, senior; Samantha Erdmier, senior; Anna Girgenti, junior; Kelsey Gugliuzza, senior; Elizabeth Hilby, senior; Jennifer Peters, junior; Alyssa Steinhagen, senior; Breanna Stutsman, sophomore; and Melanie Timms, sophomore. (Teachers: Tabatha Dougherty and Rebecca Pelley.)

Christian Life High School, Rockford — Caleb Benson, sophomore; Julia Giallanza, sophomore; and Sam Kramer, senior. (Teachers: Bruce McDonald, Sarah Waldron and Diane Wing.)

DeKalb High School — Michaela Murphy, senior. (Teacher: Chad Gregory.)

East High School, Rockford — Isabel Alvillar, junior; Maricon Mae Borja, senior; Joel De La Rosa, senior; Jessica Doering, sophomore; Tyler Ford, junior; Brittany Furman, sophomore; Jose Garcia, sophomore; Lamarcus Harvey, senior; Jackeline Herrera, sophomore; Aurora Macek, senior; Mediatrice Niyobuhungiro, junior; Teyanna Simonsen, sophomore; Brianna Smith, senior; Shay Tarlton, senior; and James Trinh, sophomore. (Teachers: Marissa Barclay, John DeRango, Michelle Jones and Timothy Lange.)

Guilford High School, Rockford — Rebecca Alamo, senior; Rebekah Caballero, senior; Zia Diaz, senior; John Doherty, senior; Rebecca Earp, senior; Elisabeth Endsley, sophomore; Tristan Endsley, senior; Audrey Gilfillan, senior; Sara Hallstein, senior; Shannon Hallstein, sophomore; Jennifer Hess, senior; Rantavian Horton, senior; Dexter Johnson, senior; Demi Lomeli, senior; Haran Lopez, senior; Taylor Mattingly, senior; Alpha Mugabo, senior; Siena Peterson, senior; Jordyn Poile, senior; Rachele Robertson, senior; Jane Shallcross, sophomore; and Taylor Slabaugh, senior. (Teachers: Eric Blackwell, Lisa Doll, Bo Hammarberg, Carolyn St. Angel and Elizabeth Woodyatt.)

Hallstrom Homeschool Academy — Kylie Barnard, senior; and Morgan Barnard, junior. (Teacher: Mary Schermerhorn.)

Harlem High School, Machesney Park — Brianna Barnes, senior; Serina Cortinez, senior; Jordan Diaz, senior; Alayni Frizzell, junior; Kayla Inthabandith, senior; Brandi Jenkins, senior; Stas Melnichuk, senior; Andrea Palmer, senior; Amber Rizzio, senior; and Kelsey Schreiber, senior. (Teachers: Alison Agustsson and Barb Kurilla.)

Hinckley-Big Rock High School, Hinckley — Ben Barnes, senior; and Kristie Runyan, senior. (Teacher: Vicki Kanik.)

Hononegah High School, Rockton — Ben Minard, senior. (Teachers: Jennifer Multhauf and Arra Van Galder.)

Huntley High School — Keish Camara, senior; Marissa Dal Cerro, senior; Eddie Dalton, senior; Kelly Frankel, senior; Logan Ganassin, sophomore; Ashley Gelz, senior; Isabella Green, senior; Anna Krum, sophomore; Gabby Miller, senior; Trevor Obecny, senior; Jessie Owensby, senior; Allison Preble, senior; Kelli Ruzbasan, senior; and Mary Kate Thompson, sophomore. (Teachers: Jillian Corapi, Kate Duchene, Valerie Lindquist, Bridget Regan and Sandra Spear.)

Jefferson High School, Rockford — Chenoa Belcher, senior; Morgan Bell, senior; Mitchell Gorsuch, senior; Thomas Helser, junior; Irin Jelnov, senior; Lorenzo Jimenez, senior; Stephan Jimenez, senior; Patricia Elaine Jordan, senior; Anna Lepke, senior; Adriana Lopez, senior; Daray Manning, junior; Brittany Manuell, senior; Alejandro Marques, senior; Lina Mauries, sophomore; Veronica Morales-Arredondo, senior; Gerardo Ortiz, senior; Diana Pacheco, junior; Carlos Pasillas, senior; Jesenia Pérez, senior; Marisa Perez, senior; Yoselim Sanchez, senior; Imelda Talavera, senior; Nayeli Talavera, senior; and Dalton Thompkins, senior. (Teachers: Steve Hoover, Lynn Stockton and Gail Zernia.)

Rockford Christian High School — Tatum Hendrickson, senior; and Emily Zhang, sophomore. (Teachers: Liz Day and Kelli Sabin.)

Rockford Lutheran High School — Abby Esposito, senior; Emily Peterson, senior; and Leonie Progl, sophomore. (Teacher: Sarah Wolfe.)

Roosevelt Alternative High School, Rockford — Gerardo Alvarez, sophomore; James Clevenz, sophomore; Brieanna Conner, senior; and Tashala Watkins, sophomore. (Teachers: Brian Hierstein and Kyle Wolfe.)

Winnebago High School — Jessie Bright, senior; Sienna Heflin, sophomore; Abigail Nilles, senior; Mariah Oakley, junior; and Lauren Wilson, sophomore. (Teachers: Lisa Jimenez and Jamie Zander-Tarara.)

Posted Feb. 27, 2013

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!