Best in local music industry honored at 22nd RAMI Awards Ceremony

Pistolas d’ Pasión perform during the 22nd Annual RAMI Awards Ceremony April 19 at Tebala Shrine Temple. (Photo by CiJay Pikula)

Staff Report

Miles Nielsen won Album of the Year, Kelly Steward and Silver won Song of the Year, and Starlite Radio won Composer of the Year at the 22nd Annual RAMI (Rockford Area Music Industry) Awards Ceremony April 19 at Tebala Shrine Temple in Rockford.

Nielsen was awarded for his album Miles Nielsen Presents the Rusted Hearts; Steward for “Surface”; Silver for “Born This Day”; and Starlite Radio for “Live Life Slow.”

The annual event honors the best in Rockford music. In memoriams were presented to the families of Ron Pedersen, Kurt Boucek and Dennis Nelson, and Bruce L. Warden received a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Following are other winners:

• Acoustic Rock/Folk — Three Good Men

• Blues — Lizzi Neal Band

• Christian/Gospel — Epiphany

• Classic Rock — AudioDrive

• Country/Bluegrass — Jamie Campbell & the Redneck Romeos

• DJ — DJ Jordan Chance

• Female Lead Vocalist — Amy Nickel

• Funk/R & B — Can’t Touch This

• Hard Rock/Metal — Pulse-18

• India/Alternative — The Poets Dance

• Jazz — After 5

• Jazz — Dean Moriarty Jazz Band

• Latino — Escape

• Lighting Engineer — Erik Myles

• Live Sound Engineer — “Johnny B” MacDowell

• Live Sound Engineer — Paul Macaluso

• Male Lead Vocalist — Dan Curington

• New Act — Pablo & the Rhythmix

• Oldies — Vintage Vinyl

• People’s Choice: Artist of the Year — Beyond Threshold

• People’s Choice: Radio Station — 96.7 The Eagle

• People’s Choice: Special Event — Phantom Regiment Show of Shows

• People’s Choice: Venue — Whiskey’s Roadhouse

• Pop — Sweet Lucy

• Rap/Hip Hop — Static

• Recording Studio — Midwest Sound

• Rockabilly — Dirty Fishnet Stockings

• Stage Hand/Rigger — Ryan Tomkus

• Stage Manager — Chuck Whitmore

• Studio Sound Engineer — Jeramy Engler

• Tribute Band — Rubik Steel

Performers at the 22nd annual event included The RED and PlayRay Players, 2013 Youth Charity Jam winner Shattered Picks, Miles Nielsen & The Rusted Hearts, Lizzi Neal Band, Pistolas d’ Pasión, Mickey Rosenquist & The Black Squirrel, Jamie Campbell & The Redneck Romeos, Can’t Touch This and Tattoo You.

For more information about RAMI, visit the organization’s website,

From the April 24-30, 2013, issue

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!