Essay, Poetry and Art Contest awards given

The Violence Prevention Collaborative of the Winnebago County Health Department was honored to host its Seventh Annual Essay, Poetry and Art Contest Awards luncheon. The pizza luncheon for the winning students, their teachers and families was May 23 at the Riverview Ice House. Youth in Rockford School District schools answered the question, “How do you show empathy for other people?”

This year, the Violence Prevention Collaborative was pleased to have as an honored guest, Dr. LaMar Hasbrouck, M.D., MPH, the director of the Illinois Department of Public Health.

For the past six years, the Violence Prevention Collaborative has given youth an opportunity to voice their opinion on a violence-related topic. The winning essays, poems and art will be on display at various places throughout the year, including the Winnebago County Health Department.

The student winners were as follow:

Emily Licon, grade 5, Montessori Academy at Marshall — Poetry

Ashlyn Horton, grade 7, Thurgood Marshall — Poetry

Jodi Weyl, grade 11, Jefferson High School — Poetry

Juel Campos Watkins, grade 1, Johnson Elementary — Art

Miracle Toney, grade 7, Thurgood Marshall — Art

Brittany Manuell, grade 12, Jefferson High School — Art

Juliana Mace, grade 5, West View Elementary — Essay

Hailee Jones, grade 7, Kennedy Middle School — Essay

Celeste Ramirez, grade 10, Jefferson High School — Essay

From the June 5-11, 2013, issue

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!