Cast set for Byron Civic Theatre’s production of ‘Hairspray’

Online Staff Report

BYRON, Ill. — It’s 1962 in Baltimore, and the lovable plus-size teen Tracy Turnblad has only one desire — to dance on the popular Corny Collins Show. When her dream comes true, Tracy is transformed from social outcast to sudden star. She must use her newfound power to dethrone the reigning Teen Queen, win the affections of heartthrob Link Larkin, and integrate a TV network, all without denting her ’do.

Hairspray is based on the New Line Cinema film written and directed by John Waters. The cast in Byron Civic Theatre’s production features Mo Hill (Tracy Turnblad), Judah Pearl (Corny Collins), Jim Crow (Edna Turnblad), Carla Pearl (Penny Pinkleton), Elizabeth Curtis (Velma Von Tussle), Ashton Salo (Amber Von Tussle), Ben Love (Link Larkin), Edward Robinson (Seaweed Stubbs), Keveja Thomas (Little Inez), Yamari Lewis (Motormouth Mabel), Jack Hill (Wilbur Turnblad), Anita Bartscher (Prudy Pinkleton), Bob Fredlund (Mr. Pinky), Jordan Simmering (Gym Teacher), Casey Cigona (Harriman F. Spritzer), Kylie Gilmore (Matron), Bob Fredlund (The Principal), Tirece Carrington (Gilbert), Taylor Marrchie-Banks (Stooie), Isaiah Tregloan (Thad), Quan Herron (Duane), John Standord (Joe), Marissa Dismuke (Melissa), Aisa Ward (Cindy), Kierra Minor (Lorraine), Marrisha Devereueawax-Coates (LaVeen), Jacob Herrmann (Sketch), Forrest Winhstead (Brad), Aaron Hill (Fender), TJ Hill (IQ), Kourtney Adams (Shelly), Shelby Primrose (Brenda), Sophie Braman (Tammy), Sydney Gatz (Lou Ann), Pablo Garcia, Jose Alvarez, Noah Hill, Nick Cordonnier, Katie Tripplet, Izzy Bartscher, Emily Love, Aisa Ward (Judine), Marrisha Devereueawax-Coates (Kamilah), Kierra Minor (Shayna), Nikki Stanford, Caleigh Huber, Catie Harvey, Kylie Gilmore, Taylor Conley, Bob Fredlund, Jordan Simmering, Kylie Gilmore, Nikki Stanford, John Holsinger, Marshall Winstead, Caleigh Huber, Andra Hoover, Savannah Giddings, Kayla Harrington, Grant Holsinger, Cortni Rahn, Catie Harvey, Erin Jenkins, Sabrina Hendrik, Lisa LaBay, Taylor Conley and Audrey Rainwater.

Hairspray opens July 26 and kicks off the all-new 19th season of shows. Performances continue July 27-28, and Aug. 2-4. Showtimes are Friday and Saturday night at 7:30 p.m. and Sunday matinees at 2 p.m. Tickets go on sale July 11 for members and July 15 for the general public. For more information, visit the BCT website at

Posted July 10, 2013

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!