RPD honors officers and citizens, welcomes officers

Oct. 1, Rockford Chief of Police Chet Epperson awarded several law enforcement officers with the Exceptional Service Medal for their roles in planning and operating the Hell’s Angels USA Run, held in Rockford July 27-Aug. 4.

Rockford police officers receiving the award were Lt. Patrick Hoey, Lt. Marc Welsh, Sgt. Mark Jacobi, Sgt. James Randal, detective Ty Eagleson, detective Duane Hackbarth and civilian information management employee Darrel Erdman.

Illinois State Police troopers receiving the award were Capt. Jeff Bain, Capt. James Winters and Lt. Vic Markowski.

Winnebago County Sheriff’s Department deputies receiving the award were Deputy Chief Scott Meyers, Deputy Chief Dominic Iasparro, detective Ryan Heavin and detective Jeff Ciaccio.

Special Agent Clayton Merrill from the United States Department of Justice, Bureau of Alcohol, Tabacco and Firearms, and Robert Springer from the Illinois Law Enforcement Alarm System also received the award.

The Exceptional Service Medal is awarded for outstanding performance that has reflected credit upon an employee and the Rockford Police Department. The outstanding performance may be in the form of an unusual apprehension, investigation, extraordinary display of valor, successful completion of a difficult task, or an unusual service to the department or community. The Exceptional Service Medal may also be given to another law enforcement officer or first responder whose assistance benefited the Rockford Police Department or the community.

These officers spent hundreds of hours planning and implementing an operational plan that spanned several northern Illinois counties and included more than 30 law enforcement agencies. This operation was successful as a result of the hard work, diligence and professionalism shown by each and every individual.

Chief Epperson also gave the Life Saving Award to citizens Shawn M. Williams, Matthew J. Rose and Sergio Mendoza. These three brave civilians assisted a woman who jumped into the Rock River from the State Street Bridge at 11 a.m., Sept. 19. Williams and Rose jumped into the river and brought the woman to the shore, while Mendoza waited with a rescue rope.

Chief Epperson also gave the oath of office to 11 new Rockford police officers. New officers Kelsey Hofer, Anthony Curran, Nicole Macias, Elizabeth Martinez, Alexander Galuszka, Samual McNutt, Ryan Lane, Chelsey Lochner, Jeffrey Persfull, Jeremiah Hedlund and Alyssa Deboer will head to the Cook County Sheriff’s Police Academy next week for a 10-week training academy. This brings the authorized strength of the Rockford Police Department to 283 officers.

Posted Oct. 9, 2013

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!