Nearly 100 named Illinois State Scholars

Nearly 100 Rockford Public School District 205 students were named 2014-15 Illinois State Scholars for their outstanding academic achievement.

Students honored with the Illinois State Scholar distinction perform in the top half of their high school class (measured at the end of the third semester before graduation) and/or score in the 95th percentile on the ACT, SAT or Prairie State Achievement Exam.

We are proud of our students who received this prestigious recognition from the state,” said District 205 Deputy Superintendent Matt Vosberg. “It is a reflection of the hard work and commitment from these students, in addition to the support from their families, teachers and staff.”

This honor is typically noted at each high school’s commencement and at each building. A letter is also sent home to families to celebrate their child’s success.

Precious Nwaoha
Precious Nwaoha

Among those Illinois State Scholars is Auburn High School senior Precious Nwaoha. Aside from finding success as a semi-finalist for the National Achievement scholarship program, Nwaoha was matched with the University of Southern California through the QuestBridge Match Scholarship. The scholarship covers all costs of college attendance — tuition, room and board, plus student fees — for a student for four years. Through the program, she’ll receive approximately $250,000 in scholarship assistance.

Following, by school, is the full list of District 205 Illinois State Scholars for 2014-15:

Auburn High School — Elizabeth Ady; Misha Ahmad; Logan Benink; Sarah Bliss; Sara Blomgren; Andrew Boettcher; Sophie-Clair Braman; Chandler Chockalingam; Makenzie Clayburg; Alexander Day; Derick Edgren; Camille Garvida; Sara Gay; Andreas Giakas; Sebastian Giakas; Logan Gorsuch; Kathryn Gorzek; Haseeb Haroon; Broderick Hooker; Serena Korkmaz; Yamari Lewis; Daniel Li; Trevor Mulick; Tri Nguyen; Precious Nwaoha; Erin O’Connor; Aidan Osborne; Priyanka Patel; Arjun Prasanna; Ashwin Puri; Ethan Riffle; Katrianna Ruiz; Tatianna Salisbury; Siddhant Shah; Chadi Soufan; Rayomand Tata; Brett Tomkus; Marc Trautmann; Joseph Watts; Nathaniel Westholder; and Zeng Zijian.

Guilford High School — Atish Amin; Grant Bannick; Erkan Bertram; Brittany Bohlman; Jesse Brekelbaum; Joel Collen; Samuel Dobel; Cory Fehlberg; Rachel Figueroa; Karis Gorak; Marianne Heinzer; Alyssa Ives; Adam Johnson; An Nguyen; Ramiza Rahic; Michael Reitsch; Kayla Reynolds; Jessica Schorr; Elizabeth Sharp; Cameron Smith; John Sommer; Bryce Strunk; Jibria Waller; Caleb White; and Alia Yapo.

Jefferson High School — Rebecca Brauer; Madeline Burg; Gerardo Castillo; Mitchell Faith; Timia Joseph; Daray Manning; Tabitha McDonald; Aziz Milla; Nicole Morales; Emily Pete; Justin Peterson; Max Saichek; and Alexis Scott.

East High School — Nathaniel Aden; Joshua Chavez; Susanna Finley; Tess Fontana; Heather Franklin; Elizabeth Greifenstein; Janet Herrera; Mariah Huntley; Anndee Johnson; David Krause; Edmund Lopez; Katherine Marshall; Sean Miller; Bryce Roquet; Raven Ross; Savannah Sommerfield; Cameron Studer; and Alex Wilkinson.

From the Dec. 18-24, 2013, issue

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!