RAMI to award scholarships at 23rd Awards Ceremony April 11 at Tebala

Sarah Flygare (from left), Erkan Bertram, Christian Collins and Jocie Nerius.
Sarah Flygare (from left), Erkan Bertram, Christian Collins and Jocie Nerius.

Staff Report

Friday, April 11, the Rockford Area Music Industry (RAMI) will be hosting the 23rd RAMI Awards Ceremony at Tebala Shrine Center, 7910 Newburg Road, Rockford. One of the highlights of the evening will be the presentation of four scholarships. Two of the scholarships are at the college level, while the others will benefit two students attending the Rockford Music Academy.

Sarah Flygare, daughter of Thomas and Kathryn Flygare, will receive the Gary S. Wilmer Memorial Scholarship. Sarah will graduate in June from Stillman Valley High School and plans on attending the University of Illinois pursuing a degree as a music educator.

Erkan Bertram, son of Peter and Sule Bertram, will graduate from Rockford Guilford High School in June and will be presented with the Kim and Ruth MacCloskey/RAMI Music Scholarship. Erkan plans to continue performing in the community orchestras and expand his abilities to new instruments.

Christian Collins, son of Debbie Collins, will receive the Verne K. Smith Music Scholarship. This is the second year Christian has been awarded this scholarship. This will assist Christian in continuing his music education at the Rockford Music Academy. Christian has also been invited to perform at the 23rd RAMI Awards Ceremony.

Jocie Nerius, daughter of James and Nancy Nerius, will be presented with the RAMI Young Artists Music Scholarship. Jocie is a junior in high school and began taking music lessons at the Music Academy of Rockford at age 5. She played violin for two years before switching to cello at the age of 7, and has now been playing cello for 10 years.

Doors to the RAMI Awards Ceremony will open at 5:30 p.m., with the Awards Ceremony starting at 7 p.m. The Lifetime Achievement recipient, Al Palluzi Sr., family members of the In Memoriam recipients — Lee Pizzuto, James “Preacher” Thomas and Johnny Spence — as well as the Community Service recipient, Angie Fellows, will be on hand for a gathering prior to the Awards Ceremony.

Hall of Fame inductees include Erik Myles, Epiphany and Vintage Vinyl.

Performances during the evening will include the 2014 RAMI Youth Charity Jam winner Justin “Boots” Gates, Christian Collins, Olivia Dvorak, Radio Stars, Sweet Lucy, Missing Links, Big Daddy Woo Woo and On My Six.

Admission at the door is $5 per person. For more information, call Dan Eisman at (815) 546-3021. Learn more at ramiawards.com.

From the April 9-15, 2015 issue

You might also like

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!