Rockford native among UW-Whitewater bowlers selected for NCAA Championships

Taylor Hoppe
Taylor Hoppe

Online Staff Report

WHITEWATER, Wis. — For the second consecutive season and second time in program history, the UW-Whitewater women’s bowling team has been selected to compete in the NCAA Championships April 10-12 in Wickliffe, Ohio. Helping lead the team in its championship quest is Rockford native Taylor Hoppe.

The championships will be at Game of Wickliffe, Freeway Lanes, in Wickliffe, Ohio.

Eight teams from all three divisions are selected to participate in the NCAA Championships. The 2014 selections include Arkansas State, Central Missouri, Nebraska, Maryland-Eastern Shore, Fairleigh Dickinson, Vanderbilt and Sam Houston State, in addition to UW-Whitewater.

The UW-Whitewater Warhawks recorded the best season in school history last season with first-round play in the championships.

The championships, hosted by The Greater Cleveland Sports Commission and the Mid-American Conference, will begin Thursday, April 10, with qualifying round action. The teams will bowl a regular team game against each of the other seven competing teams for a total of seven games. Teams will be seeded for competition based upon their win-loss record during the qualifying round.

The tournament format is set for double elimination featuring best-of-seven Baker matches after the qualifying rounds are complete.

The championship finals will air on ESPNU at 7 p.m. Central, April 12. A tape-delayed broadcast of the finals will air on ESPN from 3 to 5 p.m., Central, April 13.

Nebraska won the championship last season in Canton, Mich., the program’s fourth title.

Posted April 9, 2014

You might also like