‘Young Artist Show: Youth Division’ opens at Rockford Art Museum April 13

Click here to view a sampling of the work from the show.

Online Staff Report

Rockford Art Museum’s (RAM) 73rd Young Artist Show continues Sunday, April 13, with a free, public opening and awards recognition ceremony for its Youth Division, an annual exhibition that features outstanding artwork by kindergarten through eighth-grade students at public, private and home schools in Winnebago County. The exhibit remains on display through Sunday, May 18.

The 73rd Young Artist Show is sponsored by Women’s Art Board of Rockford Art Museum, and dedicated to Tom Littrell (1945-2014).

On view are about 450 paintings, drawings, sculptures, mixed media and digital artwork by students at 78 schools in Winnebago County. Recognition awards, one per grade level, will be announced at 2 p.m. during the free public opening April 13.

Following is a list of participating schools: Barnabas Academy, Blaesing Homeschool, Bliss Homeschool, Bloom Elementary, Brookview Elementary, Brunson Homeschool, Campbell Academy, Cherry Valley Elementary, Christian Life Elementary, CICS Jackson, Conklin Elementary, de Matos Homeschool, Easter Seals Therapeutic, Eisenhower Middle, Flinn Middle, Gregory Elementary, Harlem Middle, Haskell Academy, Hillman Elementary, Holy Family Catholic, Johnson Elementary, Kennedy Middle, King Elementary, Kinnikinnick, Kishwaukee Elementary, Lathrop Elementary, Ledgewood, Lewis Lemon Elementary, Lincoln Middle, Loves Park Elementary, Machesney Elementary, Maple Elementary, Maria Montessori, Marquette Elementary, Marsh Elementary, Marshall, McIntosh Elementary, Jean McNair Elementary, Nashold Elementary, Nelson Elementary, Olson Park Elementary, Parker Center, Pecatonica Middle, Prairie Hill, Ralston Elementary, RESA Middle, Riverdahl Elementary, Rock Cut Elementary, Rockford Christian Elementary, Rockford Christian Middle, Rockford Lutheran Academy, Rockford Lutheran, Rockton Grade, Rolling Green Elementary, Roscoe Middle, Roser Homeschool, Shirland, Dorothy Simon Elementary, Spectrum Progressive, Spring Creek Elementary, St. Bernadette Catholic, St. James Catholic, St. Paul Lutheran, St. Peter Cathedral, St. Rita Catholic, Stone Creek, Thompson Academy, Thompson Elementary, Thorson Homeschool, Washington Academy, Welsh Elementary, West Middle/West CAPA, West View Elementary, White Swan Elementary, Whitman Post Elementary, Willowbrook Middle, Wilson ASPIRE, Windsor Elementary and Winnebago Middle.

RAM is inside Riverfront Museum Park, 711 N. Main St., Rockford. Regular hours are 10 a.m.-5 p.m., daily. Visit rockfordartmuseum.org or call the museum at (815) 968-2787.

Posted April 9, 2014

You might also like