Best in local music honored at 23rd Annual RAMI Awards

Online Staff Report

The 23rd Annual RAMI (Rockford Area Music Industry) Awards Ceremony was held Friday night, April 11, at Tebala Shrine Center.

The event, which honors area musicians and music supporters, included performances by Christian Collins, Verne K. Smith Music Scholarship recipient; 2014 RAMI Youth Charity Jam winner Justin “Boots” Gates; Olivia Dvorak; Radio Stars; Sweet Lucy; Missing Links; Big Daddy Woo Woo; Big Earl & the Falcons; and On My Six.

The following, by category, were named 2014 RAMI Award winners at the ceremony:

Acoustic Rock/Folk — Three Good Men

Acoustic Rock/Folk: Originals — Kelly Steward

Blues — Lizzi Neal Band

Christian/Gospel — Tania Nicholson

Classic Rock — Audio Drive

Country — Jamie Campbell & the Redneck Romeos

DJ — Jordan Chance

Female Lead Vocalist (tie) — Amy Nickle and Melissa Ridgeway

Funk/R&B — Can’t Touch This

Hard Rock/Metal — Pulse 18

Hard Rock/Metal — Original Barenuckle Bullseye

Indie/Alternative — Sons of Many Bitches

Jazz — Frank Calvagna

Latino — Grupo Escape

Lighting Technician — Steve Knaack

Live Sound Engineer — “Johnny B” MacDowell

Male Lead Vocalist — Dan Curington

New Act — Bun E. Carlos and The Monday Night Band

Oldies — Pablo & the Rhythmix

Pop — Sweet Lucy

Recording Studio — The Midwest Sound

Stage Hand/Rigger — Bruce Woodrow

Stage Manager — Luis Lara

Studio Sound Engineer — Jeramy Engler

Tribute Band — Tattoo You

Artist of the Year — Olivia Dvorak

Favorite Venue — Whiskey’s Roadhouse

Radio Station — Q98.5 WXXQ

Special Event — Phantom Regiment Show of Shows

Album of the Year — Lizzi Neal Band, So Long Heartache

Song of the Year — Olivia Dvorak, “Tell Her She’s Pretty”

Composer of the Year — Ron Rawhoff

Lifetime Achievement — Al Paluzzi Sr.

In Memoriam recipients — Johnny Spence, Lee Pizzuto and James “Preacher” Thomas

Community Service — Angie Fellows

For more about the RAMIs, visit

Posted April 11, 2014

You might also like

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!