NASCAR fans have Hall of Fame voice

By Doug Halberstadt
Sports Columnist

NASCAR is the only professional sporting body I know of that allows fans a voice in electing members of its Hall of Fame. Voting is currently underway and continues through Tuesday, May 20

Fans can vote for one of the 20 nominees for the Class of 2015. The top five nominees with the most fan votes will be cast as one of the 54 ballots on voting day, Wednesday, May 21. Fans can vote as many times as they like while the Fan Vote is open.

The 20 nominees for the Class of 2015 are:

Buddy Baker, won 19 times in NASCAR’s premier (now Sprint Cup) series, including the Daytona 500 and Southern 500;

Red Byron, first NASCAR premier series champion, in 1949;

Richard Childress, 11-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series;

Jerry Cook, six-time NASCAR Modified champion;

Bill Elliott, 1988 premier series champion, two-time Daytona 500 winner and 16-time Most Popular Driver;

Ray Fox, legendary engine builder and owner of cars driven by Buck Baker, Junior Johnson and others;

Rick Hendrick, 14-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series;

Bobby Isaac, 1970 NASCAR premier series champion;

Terry Labonte, Two-time NASCAR premier series champion;

Fred Lorenzen, 26 wins and winner of the Daytona 500 and World 600;

Raymond Parks, NASCAR’s first champion car owner;

Benny Parsons, 1973 NASCAR premier series champion;

Larry Phillips, only five-time NASCAR Whelen All-American Series national champion;

Wendell Scott, NASCAR trailblazer was the first African-American NASCAR premier series; race winner, and first to be nominated for induction into the NASCAR Hall of Fame;

O. Bruton Smith, builder of Charlotte Motor Speedway and architect of Speedway Motorsports Inc.;

Mike Stefanik, winner of record-tying nine NASCAR championships;

Curtis Turner, early personality, called the “Babe Ruth of stock car racing;”

Joe Weatherly, two-time NASCAR premier series champion;

Rex White, 1960 NASCAR premier series champion; and

Robert Yates, won NASCAR premier series championship as both an engine builder and owner.

There are still a few days remaining before this year’s voting comes to a close. If you’d like to have your voice heard and be a part of NASCAR history, place your vote for a member of the 2015 NASCAR Hall of Fame at

For the record, I voted for Elliott and Labonte.

You might also like

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!