Blanche J. Martin scholarship winners named

The Winnebago County Retired Teachers Association has announced the following six recipients of its Blanche J. Martin scholarships: Amy Wieting, Larissa Morrissey, Sandy Farb, Zoe Zuroske, Jessica Fettes and Christopher Davis.

Wieting will be a junior at Illinois State University, majoring in elementary education and math.

Morrissey is attending Northern Iowa this fall, entering her senior year, majoring in elementary education.

Farb will be entering her junior year at Rockford University, majoring in elementary education with a minor in psychology.

Zuroske will be continuing her elementary education hours at Rock Valley College.

Fettes will be entering her sophomore year at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, continuing toward her elementary education degree.

Davis will be continuing his pursuit of his elementary education degree as a junior at Carroll University.

The Blanche Martin Scholarship Luncheon will begin at noon, Thursday, June 26, at the Town Center of Wesley Willows. All teachers are welcome. Reservations are due the Monday before (June 23) by calling George Whinna at (815) 877-1518. Rockford University President Dr. Robert Head will help honor the recipients, and Jim Bachman, Illinois Retired Teachers Association executive director, will give an update on pension and health issues.

From the June 11-17, 2014, issue

You might also like

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!