Belvidere North fares well in state journalism

With three people honored, Belvidere North High School (BNHS) was well represented at the annual All-State Journalism Team Luncheon at the Executive Mansion Saturday, June 7, in Springfield, Ill.

At the event, 2014 BNHS graduate Kelly Reilley was named to the Illinois Journalism Education Association’s All-State Team. Reilley, the editor-in-chief of the 2014 Equus yearbook, is the seventh BNHS journalism student to be named to the IJEA’s All-State Team. Reilley plans to attend Miami University of Ohio.

BNHS Principal Marc Eckmann was named as IJEA’s Administrator of the Year. Eckmann was recognized for helping to navigate the school newspaper, The North View, through troubled times in the 2012-13 school year. The IJEA also named Mattoon High School Principal Michele Sinclair as an Administrator of the Year.

In addition, Mike Doyle, adviser to The North View and Equus, received his award as the IJEA’s James A. Tidwell Scholastic Journalism Teacher of the Year at the luncheon. Doyle, who retired last month as a teacher in the Belvidere School District, was the first recipient of the award, named for James Tidwell, who passed away in April. Tidwell, the chairman of the journalism department at Eastern Illinois University, was a nationally-recognized authority on the First Amendment and the student press.

The luncheon, which also honored the Illinois Journalist of the Year, Walker Post of Chicago’s Lane Tech High School, is co-sponsored by the Illinois Press Foundation and the IJEA.

From the June 18-24, 2014, issue

You might also like

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!