Rockford school board meets early to discuss facilities plan

By Jim Hagerty
Staff Writer

The Tuesday, July 8, meeting of the Rockford Board of Education will begin at 6 p.m., instead of 7 p.m., at the Administration Building.

The meeting is being held an hour earlier so staff can make present its first reading of the recommended 10-year facilities plan to the school board. The community is welcomed to attend. Later this month, the community is invited to the Administration Building Tuesday, July 22, to learn more about the plan. The board will to vote on the proposal Aug. 12.

Plans have gone through several revisions based on community feedback. New schools would be built to consolidate Kishwaukee and Nelson into one building, and Thompson, White Swan and Cherry Valley into a second new building. Sites for the new buildings have not yet been announced. School zones would be drawn by an independent demographer.

The elementary footprint would shrink to 29 schools by closing eight schools, including Cherry Valley Elementary; Dennis Early Childhood Center; King Elementary; Kishwaukee Elementary; Nelson Elementary; Thompson Elementary; Walker Elementary; and White Swan Elementary.

The committee has not recommended plans for the closed schools, but the budget for this plan includes the cost of demolition.

A time frame also has not been settled for any school closures, consolidations or new construction. No changes would happen for the 2014-15 school year.

The Renaissance Gifted Academy would move to a campus in the city’s northwest. The elementary gifted students would attend school in the Haight building (where Montessori’s elementary programming is now housed) with Thurgood Marshall School housing the upper grade levels. The Montessori program (Pre-K through eighth grades) would move to Marsh Elementary School, where an addition would be built. Washington School, which today houses the elementary gifted program, would become a zone elementary school.

Under the task force recommendation, Lathrop Elementary School would remain open instead of becoming an Early Childhood Center. Instead, Beyer Elementary School would serve Early Childhood students. Nashold would also become an Early Childhood center. Other Early Childhood Centers in this plan are Summerdale and Fairview (current Pre-K centers).

The task force committee meets again at 7:30 a.m., Tuesday, July 2, at the Administration Building, 501 Seventh St.

Tonight’s meeting in the third-floor board room of the Administration Building, 501 Seventh St.


You might also like

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!