Auburn grad wins National Merit Scholarship

Auburn High School graduate Haseeb Haroon was named a 2014 National Merit Scholarship winner. The 2014 graduate is among approximately 1,600 additional winners of the prestigious National Merit Scholarship. The corporation announced the additional winners July 14; an initial wave of winners was announced in May. The scholarships are financed by colleges and universities. Haroon will receive the National Merit Grinnell College Scholarship.

Officials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among the finalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program who will attend their institution. College-sponsored awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

National Merit Semifinalists in RPS 205 also included Sarah E. Bliss, Calvin D. Filkin and Trevor M. Mulick, all of Auburn High School. These students were among approximately 16,000 semifinalists for the National Merit Scholarship Program. Auburn’s Precious S. Nwaoha won the National Achievement Award.

From the July 16-22, 2014, issue

You might also like