Ski Broncs Water Ski Show Team offers triple threat

By Jacqueline Baxter

LOVES PARK, Illinois — The Ski Broncs Water Ski Show Team has some upcoming exciting events! Their last two shows are this Wednesday, Aug. 27, and Friday, Aug. 29, at 6:30 p.m., at Shorewood Park, 235 Evelyn Ave., Loves Park, Illinois.

The end of the season is a great time to showcase some of our newer skiers. We need all of our hometown support to cheer us on! As usual, shows are free, but we accept donations. Concessions are still open.

The Ski Broncs are honored to sponsor the Belgium Water Ski Show Team. They will be preparing to compete at the World’s Tournament and will perform a show for our community at 6 p.m., Thursday, Sept. 11. Thirty-five of Belgium’s best show skiers will perform free of charge. Let’s show them how supportive our community is.

A great opportunity to help our community is coming up Saturday, Sept. 6, with the annual Rock River Sweep. For information about participating in the river cleanup effort, contact one of the following section coordinators:

• Janesville, Wisconsin — David Peterson, (608) 290-8809 or dcnkm@charter.net; or Dave Wirth, (608) 774-0141 or wirth@charter.net;

• Happy Hollow Park — Joleen Stinson, (608) 757-5473 or stinson@co.rock.wi.us;

• Beloit, Wisconsin — Sheila De Forest, (608) 312-2695 or deforestsheila@yahoo.com;

• Rockton — Rockton Friends of the Rock River, Loren Floto, (815) 624-7622 or lrfloto@frontier.com;

• Rockford (south) — The Illinois Paddling Council, Tom Lindblade, (815) 963-5945 or lindbladet@sbcglobal.net;

• Byron, Illinois — Byron Forest Preserve, Richie Wolf, (815) 234-8535 or richie@byronforestpreserve.com;

• Oregon, Illinois — Oregon Area Rock River Sweep, Mark Nehkorn, (815) 732-3781 or manehrkorn@comcast.net;

• Grand Detour, Illinois — Campingislands.com, Judy Lang, (815) 595-4255 or reservations@campinggdir.com; or

• Sterling, Illinois — A Group of Friends, Terry Winchell, (815) 441-5048 or terry.winchell@comcast.net.

From the Aug. 27-Sept. 2, 2014, issue

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!