Saint Anthony College of Nursing president to retire

Terese Burch, Ph.D., R.N.
Terese Burch, Ph.D., R.N.

Online Staff Report

After 23 years, Saint Anthony College of Nursing (SACN) President Terese Burch, Ph.D., R.N., has announced she will retire from the college. Dr. Burch has served as president for 19 years. The Saint Anthony College of Nursing board is grateful for the dedication she has shown to the students and the college.

Dr. Burch has played a major role in making the college what it is today, the preferred choice for nursing education in the Rock River Valley and as we approach our centennial year, the college will continue to prosper,” said Ken Dufour, chairman of college board.

During her tenure, Dr. Burch has had many accomplishments, including the growth of the college from an enrollment of nine students to now more than 300. In addition, she was instrumental in the efforts that brought the bachelor of science, master of science and now doctor of nursing practice degrees to the college. Today, SACN has one of the highest pass rates for the NCLEX-RN and APN certifications in Illinois and the country.

A committee composed of college board members is conducting a national search for Burch’s replacement and hopes to have a new president in place before her departure in May 2015.

Regionally and professionally accredited, Saint Anthony College of Nursing is a Catholic college that prepares students to become caring, professional nurses in acute care and ambulatory settings in beginning and advanced roles of the profession. Undergraduate students are admitted to the College of Nursing’s Bachelors of Science in Nursing (BSN) program following the completion of 64 hours of lower division credits from a regionally accredited college or university. Undergraduates who are licensed as Registered Nurses (RNs) may complete their BSN through the College’s innovative RN-to-BSN Program.

The College’s Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) Program is open to RNs with a bachelor’s degree.  Applicants may select one of four MSN tracks: Nurse Educator (NE), Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP), Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS) or Clinical Nurse Leader (CNL);  MSN prepared RNs may pursue a post master’s FNP, CNS or NE certification.  The college DNP program offers BSN to DNP and MSN to DNP options.  Applicants interested in advance practice nursing may choose the BSN to DNP, or MS/MSN to DNP options.  Applicants with leadership experience and a master’s degree may pursue a MS/MSN to DNP in nursing leadership in macro/micro healthcare systems.    

Saint Anthony College of Nursing (SACN) is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and is a member of the North Central Association, and is approved by the State of Illinois Board of Higher Education to grant the baccalaureate masters and doctorate degrees. The SACN BSN program is approved by the Illinois Department of Finance and Professional Regulation. The Saint Anthony College of Nursing Bachelor of Science (BSN) and Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) degree programs are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education.

The college is at 5658 E. State St., Rockford, and online at The college can be reached by calling (815) 395-5091.

Posted Nov. 20, 2014

You might also like

Enjoy The Rock River Times? Help spread the word!