Rockford's Independent Newspaper

NHL: A look at the Blackhawks’ opening night roster

Staff Report

CHICAGO – The Chicago Blackhawks announced their opening-night roster for the 2018-19 season.

Five players who saw action for the Rockford IceHogs last season are active for tonight’s regular-season opener against the Ottawa Senators at the Canadian Tire Centre.

The roster includes 22 players: 13 forwards, seven defensemen and two goaltenders.

Artem AnisimovAlex DeBrincatJohn Hayden*Luke Johnson*Dominik KahunDavid Kampf*Patrick KaneMarcus KrugerChris KunitzAndreas Martinsen*Brandon SaadNick Schmaltz and Jonathan Toews

Brandon DavidsonErik Gustafsson*Henri JokiharjuDuncan KeithBrandon ManningJan Rutta and Brent Seabrook

Anton Forsberg and Cam Ward

Defensemen Connor Murphy and Gustav Forsling* will begin the season with an injured non-roster designation. Goaltender Corey Crawford will also remain on injured reserve but could be back in the lineup as early as Oct. 18, when the Hawks host the Phoenix Coyotes.

Puck drop tonight is at 6:30 p.m. The game can be seen on WGN-TV and heard on WGN Radio. R.

* = Saw action for the Rockford IceHogs in 2017-18.

404 Not Found

404 Not Found