Rockford's Independent Newspaper

Five RPS 205 players earn first-team All-NIC-10 honors

Staff Report

ROCKFORD – Rockford Public Schools teams took three of the top four spots in the NIC-10 boys basketball race and that success was reflected in the all-conference voting.

Five of the 10 players named to the first team were District 205 stars.

  • George Williams, Jefferson’s point guard, was picked after leading the NIC-10 in assists at 4.6 per game.
  • Guilford’s Tyler Knuth was picked after finishing third in the NIC-10 in scoring at 15.7 points per game and topping the 1,000-point mark for his career.
  • Haniefe Johnson of Auburn was picked after leading the Knights in scoring at 13.3 points per game.
  • East juniors Pashens Harris and Markarious Luster were picked after leading the young E-Rabs to their third-straight 20-win season. Harris averaged 13.3 points and 5.3 rebounds. Luster averaged 10.1 points and 5.6 rebounds.

Jefferson juniors Latrell Graham and Brenden Moss were named special mention. All together, the four RPS boys basketball programs combined to go 47-25 in NIC-10 play and 78-49 overall.

404 Not Found

404 Not Found